Day in Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Sankt Goar
June 6th 2006
Published: July 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Amsterdam to St. Goar

Amsterdam, with a stop in Cologne, to St. Goar in the Rhine Valley.

6:36pm
Breakfast this morning was at 7:00 am… I think I woke up a little after 5:30 am this morning. Breakfast was the same, so I had 2 Melba toast and Dramamine. Packed my overnight bag and boarded the bus at 7:30. Adios, Amsterdam!

The bus ride to Germany wasn’t so bad. Our first stop was in Cologne. We had a chance to go through the Cathedral, which was gorgeous. I got some really cool shots from the inside. We had about a half hour to kill before we had to meet, so we wandered around the train station. We stopped at a stand and had a delicious wurst croissant (€1.75) which tasted just like a corndog. Mmmm.. I also bought a smoothie later, but it was not so great (€2.75). The train station is right by the Cologne stadium where some of the World Cup games will be played. If only we had been here 3 days later. Shucks.

Then back to the bus for St. Goar. The views were absolutely beautiful. On the bus, we had to decide our optionals for the rest of the trip. It was a tad difficult to coordinate, but I chose which
St. Goar CruiseSt. Goar CruiseSt. Goar Cruise

Along the Rhine River
one to go to. Brek also gave us a semi-brief history of Germany, starting with the Germanic tribes until now. I sorta fell asleep through most of it. Whoops.

Finally, around 4:30, we got to St. Goar, which is a cute, sleepy little town. We first went through a beer stein demonstration, and I bought my daddy one (€26.00) I also bought my Germany patch here too (€4).
After a little stroll around the town, we began our river cruise down the Rhine river. Again, very relaxing. We saw some beautiful hillsides and castles and the Lorelie rock. Very nice, indeed. Everything here is so pretty, and I really envy this sort of life. Its so different from what we have at home. Their grass is actually greener.

10:04 PM
Shortly after journaling, we had dinner at the hotel, which comprised of vegetable soup (if you call carrot shreds and rice) pork and pasta, and the dessert was kinda gross. Eh, whatever.

Then we walked to a souveneir shop, where I bought a postcard and a weatherhouse for the Mendozas for about (€15), and we saw a beautiful rainbow in the sky too.

Then we walked
Cologne cathedralCologne cathedralCologne cathedral

from the inside
to the top of the hillside to see the views from the top. I saw many slugs, did my yodeling, and moved on. It was gorgeous up at the top. Early night tonight, but I need it. Tomorrow, Swiss Alps!

Total for the day: €49.50



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb