German shoes!!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Bitburg
June 6th 2010
Published: April 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, June 6th:

*Yawn*…another day to rest and sleep in!  Today was the last day of our little family reunion! I think Kenya was a little happy about that…she was starting to have kind of a hard time keeping up with the language barrier and playing with the three girls. She pretty much just wanted to play with her new Lego sets and be left alone! LOL Anyway, we got up and ate breakfast…boy, as yummy as this food is, my body will be happy to go home and eat our food again! My ankles have been so swollen since we got here…not used to eating so many sausages and salamis!  Even with ALL of the walking we have been doing, and all of the water, they are still swollen! Aargh….

We went into town to shop, and I found the cutest shoes ever!!!! Ahem, actually it was my mom who found them…she tried them on, and they did not fit quite right…yay for me!!! They were red and white Rieker’s and the leather on them felt like butter!!!! Normally, Rieker shoes sell for over $100 at home, but I got these for 40 Euros! They are a slip on style, and are AMAZINGLY soooo comfortable! My mom was not too happy that they worked out so well for me because they are the cutest shoes! We tried and tried to find some for her the rest of that day, but to no avail. 

Previously, during the week, my aunt had introduced us to pumpkin seed oil…OMG…it is DELICIOUS as a salad dressing! So we made it our business to find some to buy before we left! It usually is pretty expensive at home. We found it at an organic market, but they only had one bottle available…we were in luck; they were going to get a new shipment before we left to fly home!  Fantastic!

By then, we felt we needed a little “pick-me-up”, so we went to a little espresso shop called “Tschibo“. Now this shop was pretty interesting…not only was it an espresso shop, but it was also a place where you could buy featured items at greatly reduced prices! Kind of like an outlet store. That day, their featured item were bras…Kenya got a huge kick out of that! She said “imagine Starbucks selling bras!!!” We spent the rest of the afternoon giggling and imagining a new name for a store like that…”Starbras”, “Espressolift”, and names like that! LOL My mom said that the store concept was well known in Germany.  It is funny little things like this that we are going to remember forever and tell stories about it…I just know it!!!

Later that afternoon, my cousin and his family packed up to drive back down to Munich. It was soooo nice to see them and get to know him again! We made plans to “talk” more on Facebook and share stories and pictures about our kids! Kenya promptly climbed one of her favorite trees and was happy as a clam, or should I say “bird”? 

As promised, Kenya and I went for a final walk to town and bought yet another Lego set!!!! Starting to get nervous about our carry-on luggage situation! 

After dinner we took a drive into Luxembourg to time how long it would take to get to the train station for our Paris trip on Tuesday. We got a little turned around in downtown Luxembourg City, so my uncle drove into the local police station (he is a police officer himself) and asked for directions…we got some funny looks because we were parked in a police vehicle only lot…they must have just had a training for recruits because there were a bunch of really young looking men in their uniforms milling about! I’d say no older than 18! When we finally got to the station, my mom and I hopped out and went inside to purchase our tickets. We had decided to buy a ticket for my aunt too since she was such a great hostess!!! Boy, they weren’t cheap! A two and a half hour train round trip from Luxembourg to Paris, on the bullet train cost us € 614.60 (that’s approximately $820.00!!) On the way home, we stopped by a store (still in Luxembourg) to buy chocolate!!! Yum!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb