Latin?....Really?


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
September 8th 2008
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm beginning to feel very silly for worrying about school at all. I've been Stephi's shadow for exactly one week and I have no doubts about my capaility of being successful on my own. Today I was finally able to look over my list of classes and pick out the ones that I wanted. I'm required to take at least ten classes and I can't take any more than twelve. Thus far I'm figured in for eleven and I'm seriously considering taking Biology for a twelveth. I got some pretty funny looks from the kids who read my schedule and saw that I had picked Latin. My logic behind this decision is simple really. A majority of words in the english language have latin roots. Therefore, I see a latin word and depending on how closely realated it is (if at all) I associate it with english. Since this latin course is being taught to German students it will, obviously, be explained in German. This will then help me in better understanding the German language. Of course I don't expect it to work out as perfectly as I may have implied, but I don't think taking Latin will be any more difficult than any other class at this school. Considering that I don't understand what they are saying regardless of the subject.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb