Straelen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
May 21st 2008
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here are a few pictures from the Church of Ss. Peter and Paul in Straelen, where I studied organ improvisation today with Otto Krämer. He had given a brilliant masterclass in Birmingham in 2006, so I figured I might as well take some lessons from him since I was so close by. I believe he said the church was built in 1490.

Tonight, we visited several bars in Münster's old city. We had our first encounter with a German bachelor party. Their custom is that the unfortunate groom must do something to earn enough money to buy drinks for all his friends. In this case, he was selling single-shot liquor bottles. I'm not sure how well that went over with the management. All the men dress alike, except for the groom, who has to look ridiculous. One of our ladies got the privilege (?) of explaining the menstrual cycle to the guys, apparently also a part of their tradition. We were then treated to drunken singing which was quickly put to a stop by the barmaid.

Patrick


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



18th June 2008

photos
I love that polypytch! very detailed indeed

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb