Landed in Dusseldorf


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Dusseldorf
July 17th 2019
Published: July 24th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I wake up, all the lights in the cabin are on and it’s noisy, I look over and Kirsten is smiling at me. Wake up sleepy head ...we’re going to be landing is 1 hr. I’m served breakfast and it was good, but more coffee would have made it better along with another 2 hours of sleep.



We land. Kirsten, OMI and I are out the door and on our way through customs. It’s always easy when you’re at the front of the line.



We make our way through the airport and find the Alamo car rental counter. How boring, until the agent behind the counter looks at Kirsten and points out that her drivers’ licenses will expire on July 27th, 2019 and she can’t rent the car. OK, so Kirsten asks her to put me down on the contract, NO! has to be done on-line.



I’m sitting down logging into my Kemwel’s account and renting another car. What did we do before technology...?



We pull out of the airport I’m driving after being lectured by the rental car Nazi that Kirsten may not drive the car in any way, shape or fashion.



Yea, I got your driving.



We’re heading to Dortmund to the Falz’s house. Kirsten is navigating, well not exactly (Maps) Apple CarPlay is, you enter the address and poof, this little guy in the dash starts talking and tells your where to go. It’s amazing....



We arrive, the Falz’s are so happy that Omi and Kirsten have come to visit. Me I’m the guy carrying the bags. I drop the bags and we’re all down for a much-needed nap.



After our nap, Gudrun has coffee and cake set out. In Germany everyone stops around 2-3 in the afternoon and has coffee and cake. I believe it’s the law and if you don’t do it, you’ll get reported to the coffee and cake police.



We visit as if we haven’t seen each other in years, however it was just two weeks ago was our last visit with the Falz’s in Orlando.



Tommy and Luca arrive, and we all climb into the cars and off we go to dinner at the local bier garden. It was delicious and the bier was perfect.



We’re back at the Falz’s house and have some Schnapps and more visiting.



It’s 10pm and I finally stand and I’m ready for bed, off I go.

Good night....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb