Digging for Coal in Germany – Wednesday July 4, 2018


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Dortmund
July 4th 2018
Published: July 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I wake up after a great sleep, it’s up there with the top 3 best nights.

They have these shutters; all European houses have these nifty shutters. They totally block out the sun. I mean it’s Mammoth Cave dark and if you don’t know what that means... then talk to someone from Kentucky.

I wake up, Kirsten is still passed out. I get up and make all kinds of noise, she doesn’t move. I grab my stuff, PC, Hearing Aids, clothes .... you know, stuff. I drop half of it while trying to get through the door. Kirsten is still OUT!

I go down stairs and check my emails and start blogging. In about an hour, Uli comes down and asked if I slept well.

Yes, I did thank you.

In the next hour, Kirsten and Omi wake up and join us on the terrace for breakfast.

Uli explains we are going to go to downtown Dusseldorf and he wants to show us where the old Steel mill was and how the city has repurposed the area. Now you ask what happened to the steel mill, great question. The city of Dusseldorf or the German government, whoever sold it to the Chinese. Yes, the Chinese bought it; came over and dismantled it piece by piece; took it back to China; and reassembled it. I know your first thought, was this some modern steel mill? Ahh NO. It was old and basically worn out. I’m thinking this could be a learning moment for the POTUS.

Next, we’re off to see one of Germany’s oldest and largest coal mines. It’s now a museum. I know Americans are hearing Coal is in, it’s cool, it’s hip, sorry to pop your bubble... it’s not SORRY!

I’m ready for lunch, Uli recommends a restaurant in Dusseldorf’s old town. It was great!

We then go back to their house to watch the world cup. After England wins over Columbia I’m upstairs ready for quick nap.

After napping, we’re off to Claudia, Luca & Philippi Falz’s house. They live in Orlando half the year and we see them at parties and family get togethers. They are having us over for dinner, we are greeted with the American flag, of course, it’s 4thof July. So Cool!

Great evening of food, wine, beer and fellowship, we are back to Uli and Gudrun’s house and its midnight. Yep, Kirsten and I are out of fuel again.

Did I ........ ????

Good nigh.........?? ??????


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.406s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1866s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb