the end of Dusseldorf


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Düsseldorf
October 11th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

on the morning of 11 Oct.
this is a short pictureless blog cos I can't be bothered feeding the craven masses all the time!

I have ended up spending 3 nights in Dusseldorf. The reasons have been very personal, due to the loss of my father's brother, Uncle Gordon, here in a Lancaster bomber on 23 April 1944. I was able to visit where his plane allegedly came down and eat at a very good Italian restaurant only a 100m. or so from there.

The weather has been absolutely glorious here - blue skies and no cloud altho general forecast temps are plummeting overnight and otherwise - about 4 deg. in a week so Winter is def. on the way. However with this kind of weather who can care? So much better than grey old Amsterdam.

I got a 2 day art museum pass for 20E and have unfortunately spent some hours of it inside rather than in the sunshine. In Amsterdam this would have not been a problem but here with the sun......

I am off today in the general direction of Koblenz and there is absolutely no chance I will get out of the Eurozone of Germany and Austria - which is handy in one way. I leave from Wien pm 18 Oct and there is just so much in between - might only be a brief stop in Koln on the way to Koblenz. Then a river trip up the Rhine then where??

Til the next wifi stop - maybe.

Advertisement



11th October 2010

Thanks for the stories so far and the great photos
11th October 2010

Dusseldorf, priceless.
Hi Mike, An incredible trip here. For those of you who may read this at a later date. My brother Mike has done our family an outstanding personal honour with his indefatagible search for our late Uncle Gordon. I would be challenged indeed to find anyone! who would go to the astonishing personal mission that he has achieved in Dusseldorf. Time is running out Mike, hope you catch Koln, and the Rhine cruise. Love from all the gratefull Huddo's.
11th October 2010

priceless Dusseldorf
in reply to my bro John - and for the info of all - retracing certain aspects of D'dorf as to the fate of my Uncle Gordon was made relatively easy by the Net - although I must admit I was assisted by that detail by in return being pretty thorough and methodical about following it - he will know what I mean. Thanks bro!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb