Too many languages in one week.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Düsseldorf
September 16th 2007
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well, bear with me, since these German keyboards are very annoying, because they put the damn 'Y' where our 'Z' usually is, it's amazing how many 'Y' we use.

After my short 5 day visit in Linköping, Sweden, I headed down south. I went to Copenhagen, Denmark for two days. My first impression wasn't good. I thought the city was quite dirty, of what I could see physically anyways. The centre of town was very dirty I thought, you saw a lot of homeless people, drinking beer and the whole nine yards, but I thought meh, it will get better.

Unfortunately it didn't get any better, as far as the city went. As I walked nearer and nearer to my hostel (called Sleep in Heaven - but it truly wasn't, it was more like purgatory, south of it, closer to Hell I would say), the city just got dirtier and dirtier. I wasn't in the best part of town. I finally found the hostel, and once I entered, it got a little better. I met two guys from Vancouver, so it was nice to finally see and talk with some Canadians (finally somebody who spoke English!). I didn't do much on the first night, I just roamed around the city at night with my two new Canadian friends. We bought some beer, and just walked, we got a little too drunk, but it was fine. I also went to see a sculpture museum, which was funded by the founder of Carlsberg - it was a very nice museum.

The second day in Denmark was much more eventful. Myself, the two Canadians, and now the two British guys we met later on in the day. We decided to take a stroll into Christiania. I never knew about it, but it sure was an eye opener. This part of Copenhagen, which is located north of the downtown, is a small island occupied by, for lack of a better word, hippies. Apparently they pushed out the Danish military in the 1960s, and have occupied that piece of land ever since. It was very interesting, they didn't allow any pictures to be taken, so that was a bummer. We walked around for a couple of hours, talked to some people who just come in that part of town to relax, have a few joints (or hash), and talk with others in the town. Apparently, it was much more open before (relating to drug use), but it has become much more conservative, if one can say that, to a much larger extent than the 1960s. It seemed, to me at least, that this part of town is completely self-sufficient, don't quote me on that though. Things are little more expensive than mainsteam Copenhagen, but it was a thing to see - they all told us to head to Amsterdam if we wanted the real stuff haha.

So after surviving in Sweden and Denmark, I headed for Germania.

I went to Hamburg for two days. It's the third largest city in Germany, so there's was a lot of things to see and do. Unfortunately, two days isn't enough. On my second day, I went to see a concentration camp which was located about 15km out of the city. It's called Neuengamme KZ (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neuengamme) - check out the website, it's pretty informative. It was hard to get to, with public transpo, but when I got there, I was like the only person visiting it, it was weird. But I like it that way, no people in the way.

Unfortunately everything (the main elements of a concentration camp, ie: crematorium, dorms, etc.) were all destroyed by the city of Hamburg shortly after the war. A few things were left, but the camp now consists of exibitions which were built in 2003. I have to say, they did a wonderful job. They really captured the camp's existence, during the war, and even after (It became a communication depot for the British military after the war). I will add some pictures on my facebook asap, once I get the opportunity to do so.

Other than that, Hamburg was a nice city, and I recommend it to anyone. Good public transpo, a lot of hostels, good shopping, and a lot of museums, churches, and other tourists attractions.

I am now in Düsseldorf Germany, and I'm staying here for three nights. I will then head south again, to either Holland or Belgium. I now know my return date to Canada, and that's October 1st.

Talk to all of you soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb