An ode to the German doctor


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
May 22nd 2006
Published: May 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

at Anke'sat Anke'sat Anke's

The Welcome cakes she made us
So we got to Koln (Cologne as the english people call it) on Friday. We were picked up at our train platform by a wonderful, beautiful, smiling Anke and her boyfriend Christian (very nice boy, we like this one definatley). They drove us to Anke's house to see her roommates and chill out for a bit. Then they took us to meet some friends and go dancing at the "live music hall", this place was crazy! And they had all you can drink beer from 9-11! Very fun time, great music, and I give props to the Germans for their manners within clubs.... seriously, there was no pushing, no grabbing, no tweeking of any body parts from an unknown source, honestly it was very enjoyable.
That night Anke gave up her bed (no she wasnt on the floor, one of her roomies had gone home) to us and we slept like logs. Saturday we got up to brunch being served! so yummy. then we went out into town to see Anke's university and to explore. We went up the Dom, the big beautiful church in the city, we climbed a very small winding staircase of 509 stairs to the top for
at the clubat the clubat the club

dancing us
some amazing views! Then to the chocolate museum, and to the currywurst restaurant for some authentic German cuisine. very yummy. That night we took some time to relax with a movie at home.. ahhhhh.....

So Sunday, sadly was not as fun because my body hates me, its a problem... As of Thursday my right ear was blocked because of earplugs forcing wax etc into my ears... I was fine until Sunday when I woke up feeling like I could barf or die or both. Luckily for me, Anke's dad is a doctor! (seriously, what are the odds) We were planning to take a trip out there to meet Anke's parents anyways, so he had a look, made some phone calls for me and got me into see an ear, nose, and throat man to get me all sorted. Anke's parents are the nicest people, however the ear, nose, and throat guy came at me with these scary looking tools and scared the shit right out of me....however the ear wax and crap came out too, so I guess thats what matters. He had a fun time taking my head and whirling it around...didn't help my head ache, but I
at the clubat the clubat the club

Anke and Christian
took some IBU Prophen and went to bed. Anke's parents were so nice, they greeted us with open arms and cake ( which i wasn't really able to enjoy, sadly)! I felt bad about barging into their home for the doctor to care for me, but they really didn't mind. Wonderful people.

This morning we had a train reservation for Paris. Anke drove us to the train station at the ungodly hour of 6:15, she is so hospitable! I'm getting better, its nice to hear once again.... I'm still having stomach issues though, not really a barfy thing anymore, now its a sharp pain sort of thing.... I'm hoping its just stomach acid, so I have got some antiacid pills to try and keep that down, or make it go away. I've never had stomach issues, so I hope thats what I should do... It isn't after I eat either, its just at random, never sort of stops. Such a pain. Mom-some advice?

However, the main thing is that we had a wonderful time with Anke; it was so great to see her again. We are in Paris now, nice hostel, nice staff, breakfast is included, and we
at the clubat the clubat the club

Big warehouse to dance in!
have an ensuite bathroom and shower on our 6 bedroom dorm! We are a 7-10 minute walk from the Sacre Ceure, we went there tonight, so pretty and an amazing view! Tomorrow we think we will do a bike tour of the city, hopefully the weather cooperates.

love to all Robyn and Dan


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

at Anke'sat Anke's
at Anke's

Dan blowdrying his socks!
KolnKoln
Koln

The Dom church in Koln
KolnKoln
Koln

The Dom church in Koln, at the very top of 509 stairs!
KolnKoln
Koln

Anke at the top with a very pretty view
KolnKoln
Koln

Dan on the way down
KolnKoln
Koln

At the chocolate museum with the chocolate fountain!
KolnKoln
Koln

All three of us on the river
KolnKoln
Koln

Yummy German food!


22nd May 2006

Your poor stomach
O.K. I'm thinking this through. You give good signs and symptoms and my first reaction is stress/anxiety.Your stomach being your weakest spot. Has happenned to me so it could happen to you. Pepto and anti-acids are a good coating for your stomach lining. Mentally, I don't have to go into all that, re mellow and chill out and deligate the worry to Dan.What do you think???
23rd May 2006

dude! paris! "yar muzzer iz a 'amsterrr and yar farzer smellz of elderberry! now go avay before i taunt you a second time-r!" hehe! that was so fun....and bryan's pub! go to bryan's pub! (for those people in our studio audience....you had to be there) -x-

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb