Final farewells Köln and Aachen you sneaky city


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Aachen
June 19th 2014
Published: June 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I stopped by the Gestapo Museum in Köln today and it was really fascinating, the holding cells were covered in writings still from the immates, some really fascinating and one mom will really like. Today was "Corpis Christi" (sorry Catholics if I slaughtered that spelling) so things were a little closed down and slow.

Getting to Aachen was super easy, only 16 € and made me realize how nice one of these trains would be from Cle - Col - Cin, such a road clearer. I still find it hysterical how Germans lay on the horn immediatly if someone in front of them does not go right away. I learned the hard way about foreign food in Germany, even if owned by authentic people, so far Turkish is the only one that makes the okay list here, Italian and Chinese are SUPER no.

The hostel here is nice and large, it will be my first "dorm" experience so this should be interesting. Tomorrow should be a fun day, going to Brussels and visitng pops uncles grave. Also, Germany will be playing their next match! Aachen is having their own public viewing as well.

The reason I call Aachen a sneaky city, is that there are things that seem to just be hidden throughout the city. Today I did my own Stadtrundfahrt by foot and found old air raid bunkers from WW2, a momument built in the 13th century turned into a memorial by the Aachen Nazis to fallen soldiers of WW1 and all other kinds of goodies. Even in the park I took a walk in, I found a grave from a soldier who fought in the battle of Waterloo.

mfG

Todd


Additional photos below
Photos: 119, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

posterposter
poster

"whose friend and whose helper"


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb