Bike time along the M.V. coast.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Mecklenburg-Vorpommern » Rostock
March 30th 2012
Published: March 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I've been in Rostock now for 7 months! The time really seems to be flying by now and I'm already starting to fear returning to work in 5 months time. After a year of relaxing and sleeping in its going to be a real shock to enter the rat race again.



I'm continuing to eat away at my expenses buying outrageously expensive camera equipment to feed my addiction. I can see no end in sight and I fear without some type of intervention I might be seen living on the street, unable to feed myself but capturing some extremely sharp images of the cardboard box I'll call home.



My newest lens is the Canon 70-300 L. I no longer have any excuses for the quality of my photographs and have started to understand that now I have the best, it's still not going to do the work for me. This lens is crazy sharp though, just amazing when the conditions are right.



I had planned to buy a mountain bike a while back but due to a ebay scam involving a KTM Downhill I put it off untill last week when I bought what could be compared back home to a K-Mart special. Its cheap and heavy but it does the job just fine. So I took it out for a day trip along the northern coast starting at Warnemunde and see how far I could get. I haven't ridden much since...well for years really and this became apparent when old people in their sixties were passing me. But I hade a lot of equipment to carry and stuff.





The coast is amazing with beach stretching the whole way, the weather matched the views which made for great pictures. The bike path like the beaches were attracting a lot of people enjoying the weather before it changed again. I only rode 13 Kilometers along the coast weaving through forests and beside farmland with frequent lookouts over the cliffs and beaches to the Baltic sea. I had unfortunately chewed up most of my time stopping and photographing interesting views and with no end in sight to the bike path at 4:30 I turned back. I Packed my equipment tight and rushed back to see how long the journey would have taken without a stop. 40 minutes, for 13 k's...not to bad I thought, 3 minutes a K....I think the old people around here are just super fit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



3rd April 2012

been there too
I have been in Warnemünde and walked along the beach and path for hours. My destination was to get to Travemünde. But I had to hitchhike some distances. This is a great and natural countryside.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb