Final Days


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
August 14th 2010
Published: August 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last day in Europe... for now!



Today is my last full day in Europe... I can't believe it's over already! It was the fastest 3 weeks ever. I am really upset that I'm leaving, but I know that I will be back for sure. I learned a lot on this trip, and I think it is for a few reasons.
1. This is the first time I have traveled for an extended period of time in counties that I had not been to before. I origionally thought I was a semi-experienced traveler, and to some extent I am sure I am. However, while in Rome, my trips never extended for more than a few days, no more than a week at a time. Therefore, bringing clothes and supplies for 3 weeks all at once was challenging and I soon found that I was not as prepared as I could have been.
2. I was traveling with my brother, which was both challenging and rewarding. Being with my brother invoked a sense of protectiveness which, at times, detracted from my enjoyment, but I was also with someone who would do pretty much WHATEVER I wanted to do! Since he had no agenda I really had full control as to where we went, what we did, etc. Not to say that he didn't make any decisions, but it was primiarly my say that made the decision.

There are a bunch more reasons like 'I am traveling with one person for an extended time,' I don't have a 'home base' to return to if I am unsure what to do next or where to go' and other things like these.

Ok, so now that I am starting to get nostalgic, I'll just say a few things before I leave.
Firstly, no matter how many times I come to Europe, I think I will always learn something new and have my horizons opened a bit further. I see, do, and experience so many things each day and in each country that it's hard to even fathom that this is the way that other people live their entire lives. I hope that with each day that passes I learn a bit more and come to a more agreeable and understanding way of life. I definitely appreciate what I have at home after being abroad and seeing the standard of life for some people. Of course there are some times that I wish I lived here, but altogether I love where I live and I love having a home base that I can retreat to.

Well, I still have a few more hours left in Frankfurt so hopefully I can have a good end to my trip. Wish me luck! I will see everyone soon enough =)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb