Frankfurt in 16 hours


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
April 18th 2009
Published: May 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hauptbahnhof Hauptbahnhof Hauptbahnhof

main train station in Frankfurt
Today was a long travel day to Casablanca, Morocco. Just to make it interesting I was chosen AGAIN for a random pat-down at the Calgary airport security area, second time in my life and both times in Calgary. Do I have the words “search me” written on my forehead? Needless to say the guy was disappointed that he didn’t find anything.

The flight to Frankfurt was uneventful. Upon landing at 6:30AM local time I had 16 hours before my connecting flight to Casablanca. I was supposed to be flying to Morocco via Rome but Alitalia cancelled my flight the day before and I had to scramble to get the Lufthansa flight. Now Alitalia is right up there with Air Canada as my least favourite airlines but looking on the bright side I get to visit Frankfurt for a day.

The airport is relatively easy to navigate and before long I was on my way to the main train station in the city. Despite the rain and cool temperature I walked south across the Main River to the Museums-Ufer along the river bank where most of the museums are located. I then crossed the river again at the Eiserner Steg
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Skyline
iron bridge to the area of Romerplatz where most of the sights are - Cathedral (too bad under renovation so I couldn’t go up the tower), Romer, Fountain of Justice and various other churches. There is a pedestrian only area around Zeil Street which is the main shopping area. This could have been a pleasant walk around town but the rain dampened the whole experience. I did relax a bit at a café and did some people watching before walking by the Frankfurt Stock Exchange, the Alte Oper and the European Central Bank to go back to the airport.

I walked around both terminals to kill time and after spending many hours at the Frankfurt airport, I definitely think there should be more washrooms and more seating areas. Generous seat padding wouldn’t hurt either. I eventually made it to Casablanca after about 32 hours, the longest trip ever so far.

Clearing immigration was slow but I did manage to get some Moroccan Dirhams (Dh) and catch the last train to Casablanca. I couldn’t find any clear sign for taxi at the train station so I had to ask the guard at the door. As soon as I said
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Skyline and Eiserner Steg iron bridge
the word “taxi”, I got swarmed by everyone wanting to have my business. The initial offer was 30 Dh. Since I had no idea how much it should cost and bargaining is the norm in Morocco and counter-offered with 10 Dh. There were no takers and some guy even wanted 50 Dh. I ended up going with the first driver and once we got going he said to me in French that he could take me to a cheaper hotel. I reiterated that I wanted to go to MY hotel in broken French but he was persistent. Thankfully I made it to my hotel safe and sound. Time to get some much needed sleep!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Eiserner Steg iron bridge
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Romerplatz fountain of justice
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Cathedral
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Romer
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

wandering aimlessly
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

on Zeil shopping street
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

the old and the new
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Alte Oper
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Frankfurt Stock Exchange
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

the $ shot - European Central Bank
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

random fountain
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

back at Frankfurt airport


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb