Guten Tag Hamburg...es gibt hier viele...Hamburgers =)


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
June 22nd 2014
Published: June 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

First, my title I chose was because a resident of Hamburg is called a Hamburger. Anyways...arriving to Hamburg today was quite easy, I had to backtrack sadly back to Köln from Aachen, but very easy to get to and find. Train travel here is simply amazing. I finally arrived here at 15.30 and Fanny met me at the trainstation. The apartment they have is really nice and has a large guest room as well. It has been nice having someone to speak all day with in German and tomorrow I am excited to experience German high school, I will be in a Chemistry and Biology class tomorrow and on Wednesday I will be in a English class which should be fun as well, seeing the language from their point of view.

Hamburg itself is a nice little town, walking around the part of Hamburg where Kolja and Fanny live reminded me a lot of the area by Michelles in Columbus, smaller houses and yards and very enviornmentally friendly. I wundered as I walked around with them why some peoples lawns were waist high, turns out there are some birds who if they next in your yard you cannot mow it!
5 stars delux room5 stars delux room5 stars delux room

sehr beqeum!
I could not do that haha. The Germany game was a surprise and the public viewing full so I ended up watching this game with a couple at one of the Biergardens near the Rathaus in Aachen, it was funny because of the 3 Biergardens, the TVs were no means in sync. The one to our left was a few seconds faster and the one to our right a few seconds late so we knew on every close play a few seconds ahead if it was going to be a good or bad play!

I am excited to get to know this city better this week and sadly do not have many pictures from today. I did eat a good dinner though with Fanny and Kolja and we got some awesome ice cream after wards. They also seemed to enjoy the chocolate, flowers (Fanny more so the flowers than Kolja haha) and a bottle of wine from Rhine region.



bis morgen!

Advertisement



22nd June 2014

Tell Fanny we say "HI" from Columbus. How crazy is it that you get to be stomping around her grounds for a change?! Cool that you get to see a school while you were there. Isn't train travel the absolute best!! Even better than flying - for sure! Anyways - Jeff and I felt very European last night, we went to the Ben Folds concert down town at the Commons where you could bring in your own food and drink and picnic before the show. It was great being able to drink a glass (or bottle) of wine outside!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb