Back in Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
December 1st 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lava Entering the Ocean ILava Entering the Ocean ILava Entering the Ocean I

One of the most active volcanoes in the world, Kilauea, is releasing lava into the ocean again.
Everything has to end, I guess. I am back in Germany now. Let me quickly recap what has happened in the last three months.

There haven't been any posts since the end of August. At that time I was in Hawaii and I actually stayed there until the end of September. Except for a quick trip to the northern most island of the Hawaiian archipelago, Kauai, I stayed put on my organic farm in Hawi. Life was good and mellow while I was thoroughly enjoying the Hawaiian sun. Maybe I could have stayed longer - I don't know - but then again if you don't know you are probably ready to leave.

I took off for San Francisco, where I had a few nice days at a small backyard farm in the Napa Valley (Wendy, the owner was running a small fruit orchards with rare types of apples and pears) and after paying a quick visit to Frank Louie an old Conergy colleague of mine in Sacramento I headed down to San Diego. Stopping in L.A. I met a friend of mine, Liz, which I hadn't seen in ages (she's the daughter of my old pastor) who is attending
Lava Entering the Ocean IILava Entering the Ocean IILava Entering the Ocean II

You can't see streams of lava as the lava is flowing in lava tubes. Lava tubes form when the surface of the lava stream becomes solid.
a seminary there.

It was good catching up but I needed to be in San Diego to attend the Solar Power Conference, a big industry event and so off I went. Boy, I had underestimated the stress level if you go to a hyperactive conference/exhibition after having not a lot of contact with industry people for about 6 months. I had my little meeting and walked the exhibition space but then fled as quick as I could. Making a stopover in Denver where I met up with Donald, another Conergy colleague, I landed in Hamburg, Germany on Oct. 23rd about five and a half months after having left.

It's cold, dark and wet now and I have started hunting for a job again. So welcome back to reality, huh? Well, I am glad that I did my little trip. It gave me some time to think and refill my energy tank. Life hasn't completely changed but I have become more relaxed and am ready again to meet my life's challenges. This is latest post is a sort of closure I guess. But who knows when I will be travelling again. I bet it won't be another 7 years
Lava Entering the Ocean IIILava Entering the Ocean IIILava Entering the Ocean III

As the lava enters the ocean smoke and steam develop. The red glowing comes from lava which is thrown back to the shore by large waves.
before that happens. I am looking to catch up with the guys in Germany again. But hurry I might be heading to the U.S. for work once again ;-) Cheers DW


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Shadow and PiliShadow and Pili
Shadow and Pili

My two favorite farm animals.
Kauai Na Pali CoastKauai Na Pali Coast
Kauai Na Pali Coast

You can see why Kauai is called the garden island. This is a view from the cliffs at Na Pali, the north shore.
Herb and Regina's WeddingHerb and Regina's Wedding
Herb and Regina's Wedding

These two have become good friends of mine. Frank hooked us up. Unfortunately he couldn't be at the wedding but I was ;-)
Kalai and SageKalai and Sage
Kalai and Sage

Two of the three kids on the farm. Sage is twelve and is scarily mature ;-)
My Little AbodeMy Little Abode
My Little Abode

Small but functional. This is after I had cleaned out the house to leave.
Outdoor KitchenOutdoor Kitchen
Outdoor Kitchen

Right next to my room was my little kitchen. again small but funtional. I loved my tree house.
Melody and KalaiMelody and Kalai
Melody and Kalai

Melody is six and loves everything sweet and fresh, especially mangos and lychees.
Last Sunset ILast Sunset I
Last Sunset I

The night I left Hawaii...
San Francisco Ferry TerminalSan Francisco Ferry Terminal
San Francisco Ferry Terminal

Very nicely renovated historic building. A lot of small food stalls with lots of yummy stuff .
Hiking near Denver...Hiking near Denver...
Hiking near Denver...

with Donald. It was a fun little walk.
DonaldDonald
Donald

He doesn't look too happy, does he?


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb