German Adventures: Part 16 - Eurovision Party


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bremen » Bremen
May 28th 2012
Published: December 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hey guys! Hope you are enjoying the nice weather too!



Today was the third bank holiday this month (so much for Germany being workaholics), and as the weather was real nice, I went to the Werdersee with some Germans where there is a beach next to the river/lake. I even managed to get myself a sunburn! In fact, the weather has been really nice a while - this last week has been almost 30˚C everyday, and we've had numerous barbecues at the house for birthdays, work groups or just an excuse for a party!



This month I have been working hard, and even with my week off this week, have managed to get many of my reports done, even though they are due in late June. Inbetween this, Camilla held a birthday Party, where she made a lovely rainbow cake for us all...unluckily for her she invited some Mexicans, where the tradition is to push the birthday girl in the cake after she has blown it out...which they followed of course - receiving shocked faces from all the Europeans.



This week brings us to Eurovision, and as usual I made my predictions, and I was surprisingly accurate...17/20 semi final qualifiers precited correctly, as well as just a handful of mistakes in the full final prediction (Including the Winner, which I had been saying since February). I watched the shows with the internationals here from Sweden, Turkey, Hungary, Germany and Malta, as well as some Brazilians - wondering what on earth was going on (particularly shakeyvag from Greece and Grannies from Russia). As I am abroad, it also gave me the opportunity to vote for my own country - which i did 10 times!



Between these events have been a few nights out with my group of Erasmus friends - one time was in a place called Bar Celona, where we had some cheap cocktails, including a milky green coloured one named "Swimming Pool". Whilst this week we went on a pub crawl in the Viertal with Hanna from Hungary's boyfriend, who brought with him some homemade Schnapps - 50% alcohol, which now ranked top of my list of strongest drinks along with the Ukranian vodka with gold flakes in it.



In the midst of all of this, I have been planning my life until Uni in September, and have booked myself a trip to the Baltic States (Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and Finland) for mid-August, as well as planning a trip to Istanbul in September.Now comes June, which much like May revolves around work and class most of the time - including on every Saturday. But soon enough my last two months here will come to an end, and I will be back seeing you all very soon!



Viel Spaß

Kevin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb