German Adventures: Part 9 - International Day


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bremen » Bremen
November 27th 2011
Published: December 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hi everyone! Hope you are all well!



So this Thursday was the International Day, which meant the whole University cancelled lectures, and instead we had stands with Information about foreign countries. Most were about study abroad opportunities given by last year's Hochschule exchange (I went to speak to the people on the Hertfordshire stand, and they told me about how much they loved Hatfield!), however the Incoming exchange students like me also held Food stands where we made traditional food for the Germans to try. And so last weekend I went to a Russian Party, where the girl from Russia was testing her food for her stand, which was pretty cool!



With the two other British exchange students, we had a food stand with Scones, and spent three hours the evening baking 240 of them. They turned out to be a big success, with them all going within 5 hours (the day was supposed to be 8 hours...) And even though we produced more food than the other countries did, ours were one of the first to run out. We were also being given compliments for days about how nice they tasted...with two even asking for recipies! One girl said to me after trying one: "Oh this is weird, British food is usually so disgusting, but these are really nice!".



There was also a raffle with many prizes being held, and you will be pleased to hear, that once again I entered a competition and won a prize! It is becoming a regular occurrence for Brits to win against Germans 😊



Thursday was also the opening of the Christmas Markets in the city centre. However as it is not even December yet, I will wait a while before exploring it fully. However what I saw of it was really wonderful. Exactly what you see on television!





This Saturday I once again had class (Seriously...these Germans don't seem to understand what a Weekend is!) and I had to deliver a presentation, which was my first since I have been here. After delivering the presentation, I was pleased to discover that my lecturer classed my English as fluent! Who would have guessed?!



I also decided, after working it all out, to buy myself a German SIM card, and so now I also have a German phone number! However - I will still be using my British number as my main number!



It is now just over three weeks until I am back in Britain for Christmas! And so I will see some of you pretty soon!

Viel Spaß!



Kevin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb