Üsëfül cönfïrmätïön


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria
July 24th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The town we're staying in, Nördlingen, has in its name a silent umlaut. More or less. I have confirmed this with a few locals.

I suspect the Germans and/or Bavarians find it as difficult to pronounce with the umlaut as I did, but will need further research to see whether other silent umlauts exist in similarly challenging words.

Update 28 Juli: Here in Baden and/or by me listening more closely to native speakers, the umlaut is pronounced, but does not seem as difficult as I had imagined. Those umlauts (and "ch", too) they teach in American schools, I think, are made a lot more difficult for students than German actually is....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb