A different kind of Birthday


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Würzburg
October 27th 2009
Published: October 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well just over two weeks have passed since my last blog, and since then I've started lectures (finally!), sampled some of Wuerzburg's nightlife and turned 21. Not too bad for having lived in Wuerzburg for just over 2 weeks. So what have I been up to?

Well, what would be called 'Freshers Week' back in the UK never really happened. All that happens the week before lectures start is basically the introductory lectures and your usual library tour. I did neither. Instead I made the most of my freedom as well as I could. Lack of German bank card and still in the process of sorting out modules and adjusting to German life meant that only one night out could be done, and had to contact people in advance as to what was happening as I was still without Internet in my room. But Monday's student night is in a bar called Brauhaus, a so-called American bar (not what we would call an American bar.) But cheap drinks, nice atmosphere, good company meant the night was a success, although was shocked when the bar was half empty come half 12, not something that would happen back in the UK. The rest of the week was relatively quiet with a trip to the cinema and Ikea (not at the same time.) Then Friday night came around: the night before my 21st.

After our long trip to and from Munich a few days earlier, we'd decided to celebrate in my birthday, as opposed to going out on the Saturday night. I must admit, I was a bit nervous about celebrating my 21st away from all my close friends back home, however everything worked out well. After some pre-drinking at one of the guys' flat, we headed into town and went to Labyrinth, often shortened to Labby (especially when drunk.) What can I say, I had a great night all round. It showed me that I had made some good friends over here and that I was settling in, plus chips in a club! Something English clubs should take note of. My actual birthday was good with a nice couple of surprises: actually being able to use my German card, finally getting Internet in my room and receiving some flowers from Jason. After a nice quiet day in town with my mates, a quiet night in talking to friends from back home on Skype was just what I wanted, and I enjoyed listening to various groups of friends in York singing 'Happy Birthday' to me down the phone.

So not the usual Freshers Week antics, but it does mean I have escaped Freshers Flu this year. But as we've proved, just because the German's don't want to party, doesn't mean that we can't!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb