Day 2b - Neuschwanstein


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Fussen
December 12th 2006
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Neuschwanstein Front GateNeuschwanstein Front GateNeuschwanstein Front Gate

The Wittelsbach Family Coat of Arms over the Front Gate to the Castle
Let me just say - Cuddle Duds are one of the best inventions to date. Worth every penny I paid for them - actually they were not so expensive, but I would have paid twice their value for sure. The morning was overcast and quite windy on that hill, and I was so happy for the extra layers. There was no indoor area to wait other than a very small souvenier shop that maybe 4 people could squeeze into. I went in for a few minutes, bought a booklet and magnets and then had to make my way back out so others could come in and do the same.

I did duck into the ladies room for a few minutes, thinking that would be a great place for protection from the elements, not t mention nature was calling. So I'm primping in the mirror, when the door suddenly bolts open and I get smacked on the back of the legs with a snowball. Seems there were a couple of kids idling their time away in a snowball battle, and the girl decided to duck into the restroom to get away from her brother's aim. Well, it worked for her - and the snowball got me. So much for getting protection from the elements in the ladies room. I brushed the snow away, zipped my coat and strolled outside.....only to come face to face with the snowball sniper. He saw me and took off running - guess "sis" told him he nailed an old woman and he guessed it was me. Little does he know that little incident gave me several days of chuckle time.

OK, now about the castle. Only 11 rooms in this castle were completed at the time of the King's death, and the Bavarian Government nor the Wittelsbach family ever completed any of the other rooms. This represents about a third of the castle's interior, the remaining 2/3 never being completed. The tour through the castle lasted only about 45 minutes, and approximately 100 steps up later (and 100 down), it was over and done. There is the most amazing handwork in wood carving that I have ever seen in this castle. His bed alone took over 3,000 manhours to create. And the man only spent about 172 days total in this castle. The throne room in all of its splendor, the 1 ton chandelier, the
A view from within the gatesA view from within the gatesA view from within the gates

This area is an outdoor space within the main entrance gate. The steps to the upper terrace were closed due to ice and snow
floor which held millions of mosaic tiles, held no throne. It was to have been carved of ivory, but the man died (quite suspiciously) before the royal seat was ever started. Geez.

Ludwig was born in Nymphemburg Palace in Munich (saw that one on my 2004 trip), but spent 17 years in Hohenschwangau growing up (the castle I get to buy the 2nd ticket for). He built Neuschwanstein beginning in 1869 after he became King, at the place of a former castle called "Schwanstein" that was in a deteriorated state - thus the name "Neuschwanstein" - New Schwanstein. Interestingly, the castle appears medievel, but is a newcomer as castles go. Construction included steel beams, and the incorporation of running hot and cold water. Unfortunately, this castle was not finished before his death in 1886. Because of cameras being prohibited in both castles, I don't have any shots to share in this blog of the interior, but I purchased booklets in the gift shops that I can hopefully share with you at some point in person.

OK, so now for a stroll down the hill that I climbed, and I stop midway and ask a kind man and his
Outer BalconyOuter BalconyOuter Balcony

Yes, the clock is correct - it was 1:50 in the afternoon.
wife (well, I assumed he was kind) if they would snap a pix of me with the castle behind me. He very kindly obliged, and now I guess I can prove I did see this castle....

So now it's time to catch my carriage ride down the mountain, purchase the second ticket to see Hohenschwangau, and finish my day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Me Waiting on the Tour to BeginMe Waiting on the Tour to Begin
Me Waiting on the Tour to Begin

This is in front of one of the outer doors in the courtyard, while I was waiting on the tour.
Me with NeuschwansteinMe with Neuschwanstein
Me with Neuschwanstein

The walk down was much more pleasant than up that hill!!!
More Alps ViewsMore Alps Views
More Alps Views

These mountains were splendid, and even more beautiful with the frosting of snow.
View of Schwangau Valley View of Schwangau Valley
View of Schwangau Valley

The valley below Neuschwanstein, with Forggensee Lake.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb