Day 2a - Off to See the Castles!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Fussen
December 12th 2006
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a good night's rest, I was down in the breakfast room by 8:30, and on the public bus for the 3 mile journey to Schwangau, to visit 2 of the castles of "Mad" King Ludwig. Actually, I really don't think he was "mad", I think that he just didn't want to bother with the pomp and circumstance of his birth. He was an art and music lover, and loved talking with the common people, but didn't like mingling with the high society and government or the constant hypocrosy that politics brings - so he avoided all. He did like his castles though....he was more of a recluse person than a madman I think - he just liked to have a lot of different "big, fancy houses" to hide away in than the average person.
So, the bus drops me at the bus stop, and I begin my uphill walk to the ticket center, which I'm told by the bus driver is "up hill 200 meters". Up the hill was correct, I think a little farther than 200 meters, but what the heck. I'm on vacation, and I'm loving being out in the cold and seeing this wonderful scenery all around.
My Carriage AwaitsMy Carriage AwaitsMy Carriage Awaits

My ride up the hill to Neuschwanstein Castle
On the way I see Jagerhaus - a small Inn that I almost stayed in but opted for Fussen instead, as I thought I might want more convenience of Fussen. Now that I know how easy it is to get around, and if I come back to this area, I will definitely stay at Jagerhaus and in Schwangau. I buy the "King's Ticket", which gives me tour times for both Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau Castles.

So, I walk out of the ticket office to find the horse and carriages to the Castles. Three carriages are waiting, and people are clamoring to get in. It seems there are a couple of tour groups who are trying to stay together. I ask the driver if he has room for 1 (me), and sure enough he does. So snug as a bug with the other 9 passengers, up the hill we go. I begin chatting with my carriage-mates as to where they are from. They are a group of 22 high school students and I think 6 chaperones from Melbourne, Australia, on a 35 day trip around Germany. Wow. Now that's what I call a field trip. So, we laugh and chat as
On the Way to the CastleOn the Way to the CastleOn the Way to the Castle

Here's a bit of the street scene of the Schwangau Village at the foot of the mountain
we take our 20 minute ride up the hill. I pull out my tickets and find that my first tour was for the other castle, and in 15 minutes. No time to get over there. Dang. OK, so when I'm done with Neuschwanstein I will have to purchase a single ticket for Hohenschwangau. Cost of new ticket $7.00, memory of this folly and the great conversation with the Australian field trip group - priceless.

So, I have some time to kill (like 2 hours) before my tour time, and I pop into the Schlossrestaurant for some hot potato soup and coffee. Schloss is the German word for castle, by the way. The soup is yummy, and since it spit a little snow on the carriage ride up the hill, the chill was quickly chased away by the hot soup and warm atmosphere of the restaurant. The window by my table provided a view of the Schwangau Valley, and I could imagine that King Ludwig had a similar view each day as he enjoyed his lunch.

After lunch I hiked my way to the castle - probably 400 meters or so, resting at least once (my Florida flatlander legs
SchlossrestaurantSchlossrestaurantSchlossrestaurant

Yes, it is all one word.....Hot Potato Soup and Coffee hit the spot on this cold winter's day!
were not used to this). I look up and you know, this castle is immense! I was hoping to find my way to the Marien Bridge, which is to provide beautiful views, but the path to the bridge was closed due to the ice and snow that remained from the snowfall the day before. So I wondered around taking pictures and enjoying the wonders of the Alpine Mountains and the exterior of the castle. I was next to a couple speaking English, and yes, struck up a conversation with them. From Maryland I learn, and on a bit of a second honeymoon. I offer to take a picture of them together (they were taking pictures of each other), and in turn, took one of me by one of the entrance doors to the castle. We chit-chatted back and forth for a few minutes, then I ducked into the small gift shop to warm my face and purchase my traditional tour booklet, magnets and postcards.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Neuschwanstein Castle 1Neuschwanstein Castle 1
Neuschwanstein Castle 1

This is the castle that Disney took inspiration from for Cinderella's Castle


23rd February 2007

Great View
Missi, I am imagining how exciting it must have been to be standing in front of the castle with all its history it holds.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb