Of scary monsters...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Augsburg
June 8th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wolpertinger!Wolpertinger!Wolpertinger!

I am much like the rabbit from Monty Python, but drunk and German! That makes me certainly even more quarrelsome!
I find this particular creature fascinating. Half rabbit, half devil, all angry. And he wants you to drink his brew. It contains bee honey and red wine, he exclaims. 40% alcohol by volume.

The "Wolpertinger" (translation: Wolper-thinger) is a kind of local legend, like the Yeti or Batman. No one knows if he really exists.

I am not aware of any Wolpertinger sighting/hunting expeditions, but that might be a very good tourism idea. Venturing out into the night, with binoculars/hunting rifle, drunk on Wolpertinger, trying to find/kill a Wolpertinger. Actually, I am not sure if they are nocturnal. Maybe I haven't thought this through well enough.

I shouldn't have drunk half that bottle.

(Blogger's note: I am not aware of any type of honey other than bee honey, but he does specify. Do wasps make honey? Some kind of bee-like ant? Anyone want to help me out here?)

Advertisement



23rd June 2009

Translates as Jackalope.. See Latvian band SoundArcade's album 'Tales of the Jackalope' Yrs, Matt Peontae, Canadian snowboarder
5th July 2009

Jackalope
Hello Father! Thank you for the info. As an update, I have found many Wolpertinger/Jackalope skulls in various places for sale. Perhaps an Australian/German culture for money exchange, rich scheme?

Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb