Wertheim on the Maine River


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Wertheim
June 10th 2015
Published: June 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

We spent the day docked in Wertheim on the Main River. There was a glass blowing demonstration and then a tour in the cute little town of Wertheim, pronounced “Ver-time”. Then we had free time to roam around and do some shopping, soooooo, that’s what we did! I might have to get rid of some clothes that I brought so I can take home my new clothes; or maybe ship them home. We also went to a local home in a nearby village, pronounced “Willage”, and got to spend time with a lovely couple in their home. I swear, the folks over here are so historically knowledgeable. I just love listening to them, and their accents are fun too!



Since I didn’t spend any time talking about the food, you’re probably wondering if they’re now starving us over here! Let me know what you think. A full buffet of breakfast foods including Belgian waffles, bacon, sausage, cheese, salad, omelet bar, lunch meats, corned beef hash, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, and I think I spied some vegetables. For lunch, some crazy soup or a yogurt flip which is cold yogurt with sweet fruit pureed into a soup form, German beef stew or a club sandwich, salad bar buffet with other sandwiches, pasta bar, cheese bar, and meat bar and ending with double cherry sponge cake or vanilla and walnut ice cream with brandy marinated apricots. Then coffee cake and pastries at the host home in the willage. Tonight for dinner we’re having smoked salmon with potato pancakes, horseradish cream on a bed of lettuce for aps. Soup will be French onion, our entrée options are a duet of lamb rack and lamb kofta served on zucchini-eggplant ratatouille, snow peas and polenta – or pan fried fillet of John Dory served with dill cucumber arranged with golden brown potatoes and salsa – or vegetable pilaf – or all three, if I just can’t get full enough. We then have the option of honey parfait baked in meringue surrounded with raspberry coulis or the international cheese plate. We then have drinks and dancing in the lounge with easy-listening music to burn off what we consumed. Man, I can’t wait for breakfast tomorrow!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



10th June 2015

good food
I am planning a Weight Watcher Intervention upon you all's return!!!!:)
10th June 2015

I'm wondering if we can hire a group leader for our ship!!!

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb