Terrific Tubingen: Night out to Neighboring Wonderland


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Tübingen
January 12th 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a laid back day of getting introduced to our semester courses, we were introduced to the grocery stores. We needed to pick up some things because grocery stores close on Sundays here...much different from having some 24 hour stores in the US. It has been a little tricky to figure out what to buy when everything is written in a different language. Today, for example, there were about twenty-five different types of dressings and mustards to choose from. I just stared for a bit trying to figure out what was inside by the pictures. Luckily, a nice lady who spoke some English described them to me: motioning that the mustard was hot by waving her hand in front of her mouth and breathing hard. It was cute. I'll get better at it. Everyone on my floor makes delicious looking dishes; maybe I can get a few tips.
The next day was a little more relaxing. In the morning I checked out the trails with one of my teammates who is studying in Germany, too. The trails here are pretty peaceful and are a nice change from the streets of Valpo. Something I found funny was that when I said "Guten morgen" to those who passed us on the trail, not many of them responded back. Later I asked the program director, Professor Becker, about it and he explained that a lot of people keep to themselves. My friendliness supposedly may be considered flirting here; I'd better watch out for that.
In the afternoon we went on a 10 minute train ride to the neighboring fairytale town, Tubingen. The buildings are painted pastels that could be seen through a fog that hovered over the day's tour. We walked around the town for three hours hearing about the historical events that took place as well as current events there. A river runs through the middle of town and in the Spring, students and locals line the shoreline licking gelatos, watching small rafts float by. I can't wait to go back.
Dinner in Tubingen was phenomenal as well; another good reason for a return trip. It is one of the best meals I've ever had. We ate at a restaurant/brewery along the river called Nekar Muller. As soon as we walked in, I knew it would be good. Beautiful copper light fixtures and freshly baked pretzels hung in air, which was filled with a yeasty aroma wafted. It served as a comforting haven after the chill experienced outside on a damp, cold day. My meal, paid for through the school program fund, consisted of a drink, salad, saurbraten and pretzel dumplings. The salad had shredded pickled cabbage (surprisingly wonderful), shredded carrots, corn and a milky sweet dressing (maybe wine, vinegar and cream?). I normally don't enjoy salads drenched in dressing but if every dressing tastes like that I could get used to it! Next came the saurbraten, which is roast beef cutlets in dark brown gravy. The meat is marinated in vinegar and so flavorful. It came in two large slabs and I ate it all and I ate far past the full point because I didn't want to waste a bite. The pretzel dumplings on the side were not good though--they tasted like balls of gooey flour. The dinner was a great time to get to chat with my new group.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb