Reutlingen, Germany: A Home Away from Home


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Reutlingen
January 11th 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Reutlingen is a town of rich history its ingredients are a perfect blend of simplicity and intricate details. Life is quiet here even when there are people everywhere.

Today we took a two hour tour of the city in which we traveled through "narrowest street in the world", bullet rattled entryway from the war, and learned of the twelve guilds (artisans) of the old days.

On the tour I was constantly snapping photos as unique scenes popped up everywhere I looked...the people and their styles included.

Right before the tour I got a delicious turkey sandwich on a fluffy yet crusted topped bun. Since I didn't study as much as I wished there was no way to communicate that I wanted mustard (my favorite condiment)...I now know that it's called "senf". Oh well this may be a new regular stop so I know for next time.

Another city highlight that I've now experienced is the Irish Pub. Everyone got different drinks and let each other sample their selections. I'm not a fan of beer, but Jordan's black current juice mixed with beer was borderline decent. 😉

Afterward we walked back through the cool dark parks and brick streets lined with beautiful ornate homes. Even in the dark we felt fairly safe...the cars are more dangerous than the people here.

There's much to discover in this new home for the next four months.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb