Germany = Civilization


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Stuttgart
November 7th 2009
Published: November 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

There ought to be an iphone app that tells airlines what your preferences are. For example, somehow Delta knew that I prefer aisle seats (except when Alex is with me and then I definitely need an aisle). But Delta clearly didn't know that I DON'T prefer a window in the row before the exit row. I like to put my chair back, but it was impossible. Shouldn't there be some sort of consciousness that this means that when the person in front of me puts their chair back, I get dangerously close to head trauma during turbulence? It should be a domino effect upwards so that if I can't lean back, then the person in front of me can't lean back and so on. Despite the perilously close seat to my almost-asleep face, I managed to survive the flight overnight to Germany. Not with a whole lot of sleep, but I wasn't quite sleepwalking either when I got off the plane.

I forgot how civilized it is to arrive in Germany. They don't interrogate you to death (not one question upon entry). You get your bag (it arrived) and go out to the meeting area. The train station connects to the airport (I love Europe) and goes directly to the University. The hotel is actually ON CAMPUS at the University of Stuttgart...just looks like all the other industrial buildings. I was met by an international student from Russia studying Environmental Engineering. My hotel room has this TV/Internet/Radio/Multimedia thing. Can't seem to get the internet to work despite my best efforts at decyphering the German...so good thing I brought my laptop. Might be the lack of sleep, but the efficiency failed me.

So - you'll love this. I got this flourescent pink STUTTGART bag (in caps because it says it like that on the bag). Inside they gave us some tourist info, schedule and an umbrella. What color is it, you ask? ORANGE. I can't escape. Good thing the vols are playing today. I wish them luck (they need it this season).

My first meal in Deutschland was very typical. Goulasch zuppe und preztel...followed by every type of meat known to man in the form of sausage or patty. Pfefferwiess (sp??) is thinly disguised raw meat (Beware) but is served in almost every pub with beer and pretzels. White sausage you shouldn't eat with the skinn on, and all should be eaten with mustard...although possibly different kinds. I did not yet sample the local Stuttgart bier or wein (still on antibiotics), but this area is famous for them. Plenty of bubbly wasser to go along with everything though.

In case you are not a dedicated follower of my facebook statuses....I am at the Baden-Wurttemburg Seminar for International Administrators and I forgot my camera...so boring blog with no photos. I have some pics on my phone, but will need to wait until I get back to the USA to upload. BTW, if you work for a state school ATT apparently has a 10% discount and the ability to get a $30/mo international plan that you can turn on and off when you go abroad. Check it out.

Later, K.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb