On our way to Lichtenstein


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Lichtenstein
July 14th 2011
Published: July 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I wake up and look out the window, it’s not raining. Can you believe it, it’s not raining. The sun is coming up and it looks to be a clear day. About that time Kirsten come out of the bathroom and says; Where we going today?

Well last night while someone was passed out I sat there reading my Famous German Tours and found that in Lichtenstein. Wait a minute are you telling me we’re going to Lichtenstein? Yep, the town; not the country. We have to back track but if we take the route I’ve outlined we’ll be there in about 45 minutes. It should be a pretty easy ride now that it’s not raining.

We pack up and headed down stairs, our inn keeper was waiting and points us to our table. He starts speaking broken English and Kirsten jumps in with speaking her German. His face lights up and you’d think the messiah walked through the door. Its amazing Kirsten walks in the room lights turn on, me the bulbs pop and the fuses blow.

So after all the specking the deutsche we sit down and are enjoying our breakfast. It’s quite, we’re talking about today and where and what we’re going to see and visit today.

Ring! Ring! Ring! Are you going to answer it; but its Bea do I have to? Yes, I answer the phone and hand it to Kirsten. I over hear Beas asking; WHERE ARE THEY?’ Who? Mandy, Brian and the Kids, who else would I be asking about. They were with you last night Bea, Yea I know we had dinner and we all checked into our room and this morning I went to airport with the Crew and they aren’t here yet and the flight closes in 15 minutes. Call them, text them, send out the military. Wait a minute let me call and see if I can reach them. Kirsten calls both Brian and Mandy’s phone; they both go to voice mail. Kirsten looks at me and says what you think. I’m thinking there walking through security and will be at the gate in the next 5-10 minutes. Their big kids if the miss the flight, I don’t think this will be their first or last. Kirsten laughs and calls Bea back. As she talking, Bea keeps saying but I wanted them on my flight so I can dote over the kids. Kirsten smiles and says they’ll be there. Brian wants you to dote on those kid’s also. About that time Bea says hear they come getting on the plane. We hear Caroline’s voice, Aunt Bea we almost didn’t make. Ya’ll have a good day gotta go it’s getting busy. CLICK!

As Kirsten and I return to our breakfast she asks where we are going. All the time I’m turning off the phone under the table. We finish breakfast and say our good byes. As were pulling out of the Zimmer I look at Kirsten and ask, having a good time babe. Yea, now that you turned the phone off. LOL!

Down the road we go, heading back into the Black Forest’s winding roads, up one side of the mountain and down the other. I tell Kirsten about the castle we’re going to see, it was built in around 1800’s. It’s design was influenced by the author Wilhelm Hauff. Never heard of him, but the castle sounds interesting. We find the castle and we’re not disappointed.

As we’re leaving we hear all these kids playing laughing and lots of noise. We walk toward the noise and find an adventure park. They had created this park with zip lines and walkways through the trees. It was the coolest, loved watching all the kids swing and zipping between the trees.

After the adventure park we pile into the car and we’re heading to Ulm, this is a pretty good size city that has a very impressive cathedral.

In about 30 minutes Kirsten has delivered us to downtown Ulm. Were out the car and I’m ready for some lunch.

First we go through the cathedral and we’re not disappointed. Beautiful, just plain beautiful.

As we’re vondering around the zentrum ‘center of town’. We find this great café and I have Leberkase sandwich along with a beer. Man was it good, Kirsten kept taking a bite and I kept pulling it away.

After lunch we sat and talked and laughed about how much fun we have had and knew it was coming to an end. We’d decided that we would try to fly home Friday. Kirsten has been under the weather for half of the trip and it was getting the best of her. So I pointed the car toward the Waldenbuck where we stayed with Oma and Opa. We were in our room in less than two hours and relaxing. The Zimmer was closed; however when I walked up to the door the owner was sitting at the bar and opened the door.

Zimmer Frei? Ve are Closed, vor you I open. I know it was because she loved Kirsten and Oma, but I don’t care. We had a great room and a great night sleep.

We walked around the town and decided to eat at the restaurant where Oma and Opa stayed a while back. As all of our meals it was good. I believe we’ll be back here again when were traveling through Stuttgart.

We went to bed, Knowing we have a very busy day tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb