Our Students Share Their Thoughts


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Haigerloch
July 30th 2016
Published: July 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

On the train from Stuttgart to Paris, a few students took the time share their initial thoughts on this exchange. I asked them to share any experiences, feelings and any way that these past few weeks will leave a lasting impact on their lives. What they had to say is below, unedited and genuine. Enjoy!



Hello, I'm Chloe Brady.

So, we just left our German friends at the train station and I'm currently a mess. Leaving their parents at the school was heartbreaking, I wished I could've hugged them one more time. Leaving our exchange partners who we've been through so much with, was terrible. There were many tears and tons of hugs. This trip has been absolutely amazing, the adventures we went on were extravagant, and the sites we saw were beautiful. The best part though, was the time with the family. In my opinion their family wasn't that different from my own. If there hadn't been a language barrier it would've almost seemed like I hadn't left the country at all. They were kind and caring, they always said good morning, and always wished me fun no matter where I was going. This trip to Germany seemed to go much faster than when the Germans came to America. I'm not exactly sure why, I think it might be because the first week in America was us trying to get to know each other. While, here in Germany right when we met them in the airport it continued right where we left off. The memories I made with the family are some I'll remember for ages. The time the whole family went to get ice cream! We all laughed at this man who walked up and down the street playing the same song, over and over again. Or just waking up in the morning and saying hello to Anja and Alex. Yes, Europa Park was an amazing group activity, but the one that will stick in my mind is when we all had a BBQ after we learned about masks. The reason this will stick out in my mind is because there was no plan, no rush, it was just all of us hanging out together as good friends. I think this trip has really taught me to appreciate the little things. To appreciate the good mornings the good nights, the hugs and the smiles. It has also opened my eyes to the world. To see a different culture and realize that even though we live across an ocean, we're not that different. I have caught the travel bug, I definitely want to come back. Julia is like a sister to me, in fact she's the best sister I've ever had. I will come back to my home away from home someday. This trip has been amazing, and I'm very glad I participated in it.



Hello I'm Carlos Roques,

Well we just left our Germans at the train station, it was heartbreaking. The compassion I feel for my exchange group and especially my student is undeniable. This exchange has been life changing, the way it brings people together is amazing. I remember at first it was kind of awkward meeting our Germans for the first time, we didn't know them other than through email and letters. However it seemed most of us found common interests with one another and eventually bonded. By the time we met once again in Germany we continued right where we left off. I formed a lot of great memories on this exchange, from laughing myself silly while bowling, to just sitting in class messing with my partners science experiment. One memory that really impacted me was the castle, I'm a history buff and it was really cool to walk through a building that housed some of Germany's royalty. This trip showed me the importance of friendship, I've made some lifelong friends on this trip and I feel like I can put my trust in all of them. I know I will come back to Germany, I love my sister Aileen and will miss her and everyone else terribly. I definitely recommend this exchange.



Hello I'm Ezra Fowler,

We just boarded the train, and I've been hit by a sudden wave of depression. Leaving Germany is really hard. I'm not usually the emotional type, but the fact that I'm not gong to see my exchange buddy Philipp for a long time is too much for me. I just can't help breaking down in tears. I want to go back, say my goodbyes a little bit better, have some more time to write my letter I left for my family, or even just experience fresh pretzels and coffee for breakfast one more time. My family has become immensely special to me. Over the course of this trip they have become my own flesh and blood. I love them very much. The way they welcomed me into their home with open arms made me feel like I was seeing my extended family. I loved the way they let me indulge in the culture. We went to lots of festivals and some parties. Philipp was always being inclusive! Anywhere he went, I went too. While we were shopping and walking around town I was noting the differences between America and Germany. There are so many! The size of the water, the money, the language! It would be impossible to note them all. Even though there were so many different plants, items, candies, cultures, religions, and people, I still felt at home because I was fully embraced by everyone around me. One day I hope I will see my German family again. We can catch up on times gone by! Until then I'll heartbreakingly wait to see them again. I'm so excited for where I'll go next, and ready for what the future holds!



Hello I'm Lauryn Dykstra,

We are on the train and I can't stop thinking about how thankful I am for this amazing experience. I had a great connection with my family so it was really hard for me to say goodbye to the parents at the school and Lea at the train station. My heart is aching because I can't imagine not eating lunch and dinner with there family and the whole family laughing at me while I tried to speak German. This experience has impacted me drastically because I never thought I could love another family like my own. I never once felt homesick because of how patient and generous my family was. I will miss the Straatman family and everyone else in the exchange so much!



Hello, I'm Will Watson,

At the start of this trip,I didn't feel that comfortable to be honest. I didn't feel comfortable without my family with me. But when I saw the Germans again they got me right back up. This whole trip has been full of unforgettable memories with my best friends. These amazing kids and parents have had an impact that I can't explain on my life. They have been so kind to me. Niceness is one of the biggest qualities I see in someone because if you treat someone with respect and kindness you deserve the same thing back and that is what I saw in them. This family treated me like their own blood. I am on the train right now heading to Paris with millions of little feelings and emotions going though my head I don't know how to describe them. These memories will never be forgotten. I will miss all of them so much. Not a goodbye, it's a see you later. Thank you for everything you did for me van Vaught family! Love you all!



Hey guys, I'm Brodie Rookhuyzen!!!

To be honest, I wasn't going to do this in the first place. I saw absolutely no point in this. My mom Bonnie eventually talked me into it. I finally agreed to this, and I signed the work. I was nervous till I started talking to Robii. We found out we have a lot in common and we learned a lot about eachother. I was nervous when he came, I was sweating and shacking but I was very excited to meet him. The moment I met him I knew we would be friends forever. His stay with us was awesome. My family loved him!!! But however when we were leaving for Germany I was scared. I've never been away from home without my family for this long. All that fear went away the moment I saw Robii and my other friends I made on the exchange. I was still nervous because I haven't met the amazing family yet. I loved them!!! They are my second family. Today was the saddest day ever. I cried like a baby. Rob isn't my friend. He is my brother. So I think this exchange has changed me for the better and I've seen and learned so much. If my host family reads this I want to say thank you for being a great host. You guys aren't my host family, you guys are by far my second family. I love you guys.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb