A well earned rest


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
October 15th 2014
Published: October 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The last few days have really been relaxing. I haven’t been drawn into anything I didn’t feel like doing. After the tough few days on the road it was a necessity for me to be able relax, clear my head and begin planning the next, and last phase of my trip. The few days that have been enjoyed in Bordeaux have involved not much more than a little sightseeing and a lot of recuperation. I’ve spent time down by the river, reading on the grass. It’s a beautiful setting to be enjoyed, especially when the weather permits. I’ve missed snoozing in the sun as I did so often at the beginning of my trip in Tallinn and in London. Although I have done my fair share of nothing, I’ve also been productive. I was able to use the spare time to apply for some scholarships for next year, hopefully successfully, and been able to talk to dad for his birthday. I can’t believe he is 65, the age where one can access their superannuation without and restraints. It’s a milestone for mum and him, one that has come along faster than they, or I would have ever expected. Disappointingly I’ve also finished season two of House of Cards, without realising there is going to be a season three. I always try and avoid watching TV shows, especially plot driven ones that have not been finished being made. It makes for a frustrating wait as one is kept in a constant state of anticipation.



Over the last few days I’ve devised an outline for the next two or so weeks. The general plan is to head to Pamplona, in the north of Spain by bike. This shall be the last leg of my cycling trip. The intervening 300 or so km will take me over the 3000k threshold, an amazing achievement in itself. This will also mean tackling the Pyrenees, which (should I conquer them) will be the crowning glory of my ride. To have ridden in the same terrain as great tour de France champions will be a proud moment for me. I plan to head off tomorrow (providing the weather is kind) and reach Pamplona within a week. I know it will take an extra effort, and extra time to reach my goal, but it is more manageable than the previous plan. Once finished riding, I’ll attempt to sell my bike, either in Pamplona, or Barcelona. Hopefully I can do it without too much hassle, and that should free me up to travel swiftly through Italy and Greece, providing I still have the time and money. Concluding the European leg of my trip, I hope to be able to stop in Bangladesh on the way back. It is now 4 years ago approximately that I was there, and to be able to keep that connection unbroken would mean a lot to me. It’s a beautiful place Bangladesh, and although the school was right to be responsible in its guardianship of me, I feel I didn’t get to experience what Bangladesh really has to offer. This is the general plan, and I hope I can pull it off without too much hassle. I shall keep you all posted on my movement. Keep me in your thoughts as I wind up my ride, and remember the cause of my trip. I look forward to catching up with you all upon my return to the homeland. But for now it’s farewell. Wish me luck,



Cheers,



Tikka

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb