France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
July 12th 2014
Published: August 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 12: Nice and Avignon.I stayed with a couple in Nice. They were super nice (see what I did there?) and spoke very little English. The noteworthy thing is the cats. They had 2 cats and a kitten who kept taking naps in my shoes (so little!). I woke up, booked my train to Avignon, and walked around windy streets. I bought colorful sandals and a bracelet. The beach was cloudy, but I went anyway. Then I took a really long time to walk home. I took the train to Avignon and met my couchsurfer who was awesome. There was a huge fringe festival with fliers everywhere. We had a delicious dinner and then picked up the Hungarian couple (!) who I will definitely be hanging out with in the future. While we were out later, we ran into another Hungarian! The world is cool.

Day 13: TRAVEL. Ugh. Today I learned that planning is actually the worst. Never do it. Here was my plan:
Take the 11:40 train from Avignon to Nimes. Take the 12:30 train from Nimes to Barcelona. Get to Barcelona at 4:30. Check into the hostel, go to a bar, watch the World Cup final.
Here's what actually happened:
The train to barcelona is full. There is a train at 3:30 that gets there at 7:30. Ok. Game is at 9. Still time. Hang out in the Nimes train station forever. Eat a delicious lunch with chèvre. Get on the train. Get off the train at the border town because the doors don't work properly. Get told that the next train leaves at 7:30. We have an hour and a half until Barcelona. Train is delayed 10 minutes. Finally find a seat on this now super crowded train. Run to my hostel. Arrive 30 minutes into the final. Fail. I met some people though and had a good adventure with sandwiches and beer. I got home at 2 and slept. 23 years old and 23 countries today! Spain is my golden country!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb