Finally to France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
April 20th 2011
Published: April 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Another smooth series of flights although tiring - leaving hotel in New York 2pm and arriving Vendome 5pm next day with only an hour or so of sleep snatched in bits. We flew to Paris via London then scary taxi ride to train station for trip to Vendome. I wish I knew French to say "we're not in a hurry". The taxi driver was weaving in and out of the lanes at about 130 kmh expecting the huge trucks to move over and make way. Then through town was scary for pedestrians who dared cross at their crossings. It was lucky I (G) brought a book in Ak as the TV screen did not work, hopefully I will finish this before I return.

I had a moment of panic on boarding the Air France flight to Paris - "what were we thinking coming here for this long without knowing the language". But that moment passed once I sat down and saw the airlines magazine, classy enough to rival Vogue.  It showcased everything I love and imagine France to have: fashion, design, great food and wine, funky and modern as well as classic architecture. I cant wait to see and experience it all.  It did help that the magazine had an English translation for everything though!   

A disturbing incident while waiting for the train to vendome with some perv trying to look up my dress. He wasn't so discreet about it either. I was sitting down with my legs crossed but there must have been a bit of flabby thigh showing as I was tired and distracted. He was about 20metres away (but Gerard was further away just wandering around) crouching down to be at eye level and calling out who knows what sort of things. I thought he was calling out to someone behind me so he had a free show until I finally looked behind me, saw no one, realized what was happening and quickly adjusted my dress. Poor old Jenny the frenchie was a bit of a loopy but he quickly took off once he saw me coming ( of course).


Advertisement



22nd April 2011
Dawn flying into London

This photo is amazing, Im sure you could win a competition for this.

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb