Good-Bye Florence


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
April 24th 2005
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I didn't write last night. It was a long day (and night). We got up early to go to the Uffizi, and ended up waiting about 3 and a half hours in line to get in. I was tired and my feet hurt a lot. We saw THE BIRTH OF VENUS (aka Venus on the Half Shell) and THE ALLEGORY OF SPRING, as well as a couple of Da Vinci paintings. But mostly the Uffizi is the greatest museum for boring religious renaissance art. It wasn't worth the wait.
But we had cannolies for breakfust, some pizza for lunch, checked our e-mail, finally sent our postcards and killed time. We sat in a small park and played cards until dinner.
We waited at the train station forever and our train finally came. Itwas only an hour and a half to Pisa, but I still slept. We got on our night train to Nice, and people were sitting in our seats (and another couple's as well). Luckily the other couple spoke the language, and the train guy helped and we finally go our seats. It wasn't very comfortable (six people crammed into one little cart) but I slept off and on. I was VERY happy to get off the train.
Right now we are on the train to Montpellier. I will be glad when the very long day of traveling is over. But the train went along the coast of France -- VERY BEAUTIFUL. It made me want to get out and go to the beach.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.2107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb