Fin des vacances


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The last night. Sigh. We ate like little hogs at Nos ancestres les Gaulois on Ile St.Louis, a feast we both highly recommend and that I will describe more fully when I can access an English keyboard because this one is making me crazy!!!

Okay.... so we tripped over the Louvre, misplaced the Eiffel Tower, went in circles to find a bookstore (that whole street crossing thing) .... and today I did the biggie .... I lost my camera. Yup. After having about 200 photos on it. And it was brand new one week ago. So, in hopes that bloggers around Europe might connect and possibly believing in the occasional miracle, here's the deal: I don't care about the camera at all but I do care about those photos. So, if anyone should come across a Sony digital with an ยจ"I love Canada" keychain on it, they can keep the camera but please return the memory card to the sacristan of Notre Dame des Champs, 92 bis Blvd. de Montparnasse. He has all my info and will be able to forward the card to me. (That is because the place I lost the camera was the church...7 churches total now! Almost caught up with the museums, but not quite. Next time.)

Sigh..... however, camera or no camera, photos or no photos, this has been an incredible trip and the lived experience cannot disappear. I will therefore be unable to bore everyone silly with a zillion slide shows but the lack of photos means that I will have to describe everything in great detail using words, gestures, and the 120 photos Brenda took. And I was so looking forward to using 320!

At dinner tonight we sat next to a lovely French couple who asked if we were Americans; I responded that we are Canadians and they wanted to know if we were from Quebec. I thought it only polite to introduce Brenda as coming from la belle province. She was not quite so amused because they immediately assumed that she spoke fluent French and began going at it at the speed they normally use when conversing with the fluent. I think there were times when I understood as much as Brenda did, which was amusing for me but only served to give her yet another reason to consider tossing me into the Seine! I am fortunate to have survived the walk home across the bridge, believe me!

Okay; I think that is about it from beautiful, wonderful, seductive Paris. No Frenchmen were kissed...yet....and time is running out....(sorry Catherine). It is time for us to pack up our pastries and go home; okay so the pastries haven't a hope of making it out of our room but the image is nice.

BTW, I now have 6 pairs of shoes from Paris. Good thing that my daughter isn't meeting the plane: she might consider leaving me and my Parisian shoes to walk across Calgary!

Au revoir nos amis.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb