Tanks for the memories - Saumur


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
October 16th 2007
Published: October 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Saumur has a few claims to fame. It is home to the world famous French equestrian center, which was closed when we visited, and the French Army's cavalry school, also closed to visitors. I was scared to take photos of the tank gunnery training school in case I was arrested.

Incidentally, I once read a story which claimed that the final test put before a prospective French cavalry officer consisted of an equal number (3 or 6, I forget which) of cross-country rides, ladies of the night, and bottles of champagne, for him to dispose of against the clock in the order he felt most appropriate. There was intense debate, so I read, as to the merits of the various available sequences.

There is also a tank museum in Saumur, which Helen refused to visit, though she generously allowed me to visit one rainy day later in the week. The building is crammed full of superb tanks, many of which had been generously left behind by retreating Germans. The musee was mercifully free of all "son et lumiere" influences, so as to attract only the most ardent war-bores, which in turn meant that I pretty much had the place to myself. (Oh - try googling "great french military victories" if you have not already ).

Finally, Saumur is home to a sparkling wine industry. Someone once told me that the Loire had set itself up in competition with the Champagne, and while they clearly have some way to go, their product is pretty good I think.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb