Whoa... that's deep! No, it's Dieppe!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy
October 25th 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post


(by Lettie) You would think, having been to all the places that I have at this point, that I would have experienced some excitement all along. But I have not, that is, until our Transmanche Ferry (which was a great relaxing ride by the way) pulled into port in Dieppe (pronounced dee-ehp), France. Suddenly, I turned to Becky and said with a little thrill in my voice "We're in France!" I experienced a kind of effervescence and aliveness here all of a sudden. Arriving at our hotel and stepping out of our taxi I saw a group of young people with sombreros on, daisychained in a line as they danced across the street in front of us. I immediately grabbed the camera trying to capture the fun. I would have joined in, if not for being tethered to luggage. After sequestering ourselves in our room, we soon discovered a happen'n party next door. Three or four men in the group were dancing on the table tops and getting down to business as they shimmied to American rock and roll. When they realized they were being watched they really started to put on a show for us, waving and gesturing for us to join them. I would have but Becky wouldn't let me, pulling me away from the window and locking the doors... (-:

Though a great view next door, an even better one in my mind was our 3rd floor balcony view overlooking the harbor and street below. Evening fog surrounded the harbor boats and nearby buildings. I felt cocooned in mist and festive energy - a rather odd juxtaposed sort of thing I suppose, but I was quite engaged by all nonetheless. I think Becky wondered what came over me as I dashed around taking pictures and wanting to go out to the wharf to take more, though it was almost midnight. The French, we soon learned, stay up late, sleep in late, and take time off for long lunches. They close down many shops and businesses for an hour to an hour and a half which is how, on the following day, we missed getting assistance from the local Tourist Information Center just down the street as they were closed.

A tourists's best friend Information Centers are, as we have discovered in our travels to date, often indispensable. They are usually located at town centre and provide information about local customs, buses, rails, airlines, hotels, B&B's, restaurants, taxis, tourist attractions, as well as maps and directions to just about anywhere. Today, however, we were on our own. Just our intuition and sense of adventure to guide our way...



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

England, NewhavenEngland, Newhaven
England, Newhaven

Newhaven Harbor
England, NewhavenEngland, Newhaven
England, Newhaven

Sailing out of Newhaven Harbor
England, NewhavenEngland, Newhaven
England, Newhaven

The Lighthouse
England, NewhavenEngland, Newhaven
England, Newhaven

The Seven Sisters
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Ferry pulling into Dieppe Harbor
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Harbor Tram into Dieppe
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Dancing in the Streets
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Party Next Door
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Morning Fish Market
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Harbor Channel Boats
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Dieppe Bridge
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Dieppe Harbor Boats
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Dieppe Brick Building
France_DieppeFrance_Dieppe
France_Dieppe

Dieppe Church


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb