French Baseball Forum: Ringor from the East Plays for Bois-Guillaume!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Rouen
April 3rd 2007
Published: April 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Picture of MePicture of MePicture of Me

Lots of friends have asked me what I do with all my free time. The answer: I take lots of pictures of myself.
There is a baseball website called ‘Strikeout’, which is an open blog set up specifically as an forum for discussing French baseball. It is really interesting—people are discussing all kinds of topics, from teams in MLB to the teams here in France, to elsewhere in Europe. Most of the discussions center around the activities of the various teams here in france, for instance one blog entry is titled ‘How do we defeat Montigny?’ Montigny being the Elite Champions last season (and the team that Kaunas Lituanica will be playing in Hoofddorp, Holland, in the European Cup in June). Hey, maybe I should read that one……

I first learned about the blog at our game on Sunday when the guys were talking about how apparently the rumor around the league is that Bois-Guillaume is recruiting players from Eastern Europe, and that this season they had acquired a pitcher from the East. When they were first joking about this, it did not occur to me that they were talking about me. It was only after the game when the topic came up, over drinks and fries, that I realized this.

The rumor of a player from the east playing for Bois-Guillaume was started by a discussion on Strikeout, the French Baseball forum. I am not sure who started the rumor but I like it.

It will be interesting to see how long it takes teams to figure out I am from the US, and not Lithuania. Maybe I’ll just start speaking Lithuanian during the games to keep the myth alive—it will good publicity, I think, for the Lithuanians, and keep things interesting.

Link to STRIKEOUT, the discussion board:

http://strikeout.fr-bb.com/

Advertisement



8th April 2007

Hello Vilius
I am a girl from China .I've seen your blog many weeks ago by chance, really envy your travel style ,and I like travel ,too.But I have just visit some citys in China in my holiday .So hope you can go on to continue your trip .

Tot: 0.497s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.3469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb