Rest of London and Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
May 26th 2011
Published: May 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have to say I am quite blessed in that I know God will look after me. I am currently using the computer that belongs to Mimi - a friend of Mike Zwicker. Mike is an old friend of my Dad's. With a little bit of faith and some basic/poor planning, I found her in Lyon, France. My lack of French and her little English combined for a very entertaining night. We managed to get to know each other over Go Fish and people watching from her balcony. Despite our language barrier, Mimi has become a friend....(Dances With Wolves sort of thing).

Anyways, I arrived here after 3 nights in Paris. I did everything from climbing the 750-and-some-odd stairs of the Eiffel Tower, going to the top of the Arc de Triumph, seeing Notre Dame, Sacred Heart, The Caticombs (personal favourite) and purposely getting lost down authentic neighbourhood streets by day (the time I got lost at night...not so puposely).

My first hostel SUCKED. Felt like I was stuck in a bad horror movie. Badly lit, neon-semi-flashing signs, squeaky bunk beds and the grimiest shower - enough said. Not fun when you're tired from traveling all day.

The next day I grabbed my stuff, headed to the other side of Paris on a tour bus and started to think of where to find a new hostel. True story - I had a gut feeling to go to St.Vincent De Paul, a church 45 minutes away, and that things would work out if I went there. So I did. I met Chris; a 30 year old professor from Carlton University. Long story short....he just HAPPENED to be checking out st.vincent, offered to show me his hostel, and was MORE than helpful. God is great.
We ended up walking Paris for a few hours that day and again last night - another new friend.

Speaking of friends, spent a great night with Jess Marshall and her friends who live in Wimbleton the night before heading to Paris and the weekend with Megan Fousas (third cousin) and her friends in Chelmsford. Lots of laughs at Jess's, too many drinks in Chelmsford!! Both great memories for moi (French for me 😊

Anyways, that's what's new. Heading to Tazie tomorrow for the weekend - thinking Switzerland after that! Until then 😊

p.s....Happy 60th - a day Dad!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



27th May 2011

Dude, I can't even imagine how sketchy that would have been being lost down side streets in Paris! Good thing you know a lot of french? Wait a min... Unreal pictures steve, look like you're pretty much standing in front of post cards!
29th May 2011
Catacombs!!!!!

eww so creepy!!

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb