Lyon- The first week


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ApartmentApartmentApartment

View from our apartment
I left New Orleans on the 7th of June and arrived in Lyon, France on the 8th. We spent our first weekend figuring our way around the city and getting use to the new surroundings. The first night here was very very hot so I didn't get much sleep that night but it has since cooled and it is very pleasant now.

There is a bar in our neighborhood that is New York themed and we have been there several times. It is funny to see what the French think America is like. It is really no different than any other French bar except that they play really outdated and bad American music.

I really like our apartment. It is on the 7th floor of the building and is very spacious. Since we have no air conditioning it is very good to have a top floor apartment so that you can get a good breeze.

I am not doing well as far as communication goes. I am limited to being able to say hello, goodbye, and thank you as well as pointing to things and shaking my head. I definately have a new found respect for people
ApartmentApartmentApartment

This is a view from our apartment
I run across in America who cannot speak English.

Our first week of classes was uneventful. As always we are loaded down with reading and I am really wondering when Im gonna find the time to study and enjoy Europe at the same time. I'll figure it out.

This week we also went swimming at a public swimming pool right across the street from the law school. There were two large pools and lots of room. The facilities were very nice but we learned real quick that the French are not modest!!! Men are not allowed to wear swim trunks in the pool. They must wear a speedo or hot pants and as you can imagine this slightly upset the male students Im traveling with. There was one guy who was up for the challenge! Sam is the bravest guy I have ever known. But men are not the only ones required to bear all.....women can take one towel to the pool with them.....no cover up or shoes or anything. And hey, if you want to go topless well by all means, go topless! We all got our eyes full that day.

We have had an eventful
ApartmentApartmentApartment

A view from our Apartment
first week which included:

a fight between a waiter and a customer one foot from our tabel that ended in the waiter breaking the man's cane over his knee and throwing it at his head;

an elderly woman falling in our apartment building after I opened the front door; and

almost being hit by a car so many times that I have lost count.

I feel like there is so much to talk about and so much I have already forgotten. I miss everyone severly and can't wait to come home. But in the mean time I am going to enjoy this great experience and try my best to share it with you!

Chaile


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

ApartmentApartment
Apartment

This is what our apartment looks like on the inside
ApartmentApartment
Apartment

The inside of our apartment
ApartmentApartment
Apartment

The inside of our apartment
Around LyonAround Lyon
Around Lyon

This is the bank of the Rhone river; directly across the street from my school.
Around LyonAround Lyon
Around Lyon

This is the Rhone river. One of two rivers that flow through the town.
A buildingA building
A building

Im not sure what this building is but it's pretty
BarBar
Bar

Me and my beer.
My new friend!My new friend!
My new friend!

I had a few drinks with my new friend. She was a beer lover too!


17th June 2007

Love the blog
Hey, I am so glad you are doing this. I love it!!! We miss you so much and can't wait to see you. I like your new pics..... Kisses!!
17th June 2007

Miss you!!
Chaile!!! I am so glad you are having an AMAZING experience!!! I am so happy for you! I miss you so much and I love your blog so I can be updated on your exciting adventures! I hope you have an awesome time and I can't wait to talk to you! I got your birthday message, and I am so sorry I missed your call. Miss you! Love you!
19th June 2007

Pool
First let me say we love you and are thinking of you every day. Now to the main topic of the pool. This would be so much more fun to set and watch than going to the mall and watching people. However, they might ask me to bring along my coverup. I know that this trip is such an experience for you and you will never forget and recall so many fun things when you return that at the time you may not have thought much of. Keep these blogs coming. Love You Aunt Cynthia

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb