Roman Amphitheatre & Lyon Skyline


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
January 20th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

Well...today I officially got a french cell phone! Don't worry, nothing too spectacular, pretty normal cell phone. I was informed by my Finnish friend Tero today that there is an indoor hockey rink in town near where I live! There is also a hockey team here, but the quality is understandably questionable. But because admission is 2 euros, it might be worth pursuing.

Today my dutch friends Ezri, Luuk, and I did a bit of sight-seeing as most of our friends from residence decided to jet over to Geneva for the day. I think Luuk and Ezri and I are going to make a trip over there one weekend, but for more than just one day (we found a hostel that is 80 euros a night for 4 people - including breakfast - so that would be a pretty thrifty trip to Switzerland, while enabling us to stay more than 6 hours). Anyway, the sight-seeing we did today; we walked through Vieux Lyon again, but scaled the cliffside up to the Roman Amphitheatre! Now I don't know a whole lot about this attraction, except that it's old, and originally Roman (but you already knew that, didn't you?). There are two 'bowls' next to each other, and it was interesting to see some more of Lyon. We also got to see the view of the city from approximately 100-150 feet up, so that was pretty cool as well! I'm not exactly sure which mountains are right by Lyon (i'd assume the French Alps) but you can see them from the upper area of Lyon; quite the sight! I'll attach some pictures, but unfortunately I think you'll have some difficulty seeing the mountains. Also today, Luuk, Tero, Ezri, and I bought our tickets for the upcoming Lyon/Nice match. The game is on saturday of next week, so we're pretty stoked to see some good soccer! Anyway, i'll attach the pictures I took today, and hopefully all of you are getting some sort of satisfaction out of this blog thingy. Also, I had my first french hot dog today (I know what you're thinking; "That's what she said.") and the french do it a little differently here in that they put the hot dog in a french baguette instead of a simple hot dog bun! Kinda funny, but it was tasty and covered in cheese, so I wasn't complaining! Oh, fyi, i'm going to be 30 pounds overweight when you all see me next, so start a "Patrick Liposuction" fund. Hope things are going well, and happy belated birthday to Michael! Hope you guys all had a grand old time at Squire's last night! Talk to you soon!

Patrick


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



22nd January 2007

Why do I have to title my comments? Its a comment!
Seems like this was a win-win day for you Patty, you got to see the roman amphitheater (sweet) AND you get to see more of Geneva later (also sweet). I wouldn't worry too much about getting fat, you could just keep sight seeing and you'll probably walk it all off.
22nd January 2007

Heather or I will show your dad how to get on this blog so keep the updates coming! :) And don't develop *too* much of a taste for those French hot dogs...xox!
24th January 2007

Lucky You
Hey Patrick, parlez-vous francais? you are so lucky to be all the way over there in France meeting all these cool people. I am so jealous, I wish I could be there too! oh noo... wait a minute... i am there! We have to set a date for Geneva...
24th January 2007

Titles Are For Queers
French hockey can't be that bad. Huet comes from over there.
24th January 2007

Hockey in France??? Cool man! Did'nt think that would happen, stupid Nick Arrand told me pretty much nobody in France plays hockey or even knows how to skate. Shows how much that kid actually knows :p Bury a couple for me buddy.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb