I wish I could get a real Internet connection


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
January 16th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stealing wireless from the neighbor freaking blows. My connection goes out every three minutes and is only barely strong enough to support IM.

So far that's my only gripe while I've been here.

The shower situation kind of sucks too come to think of it. Most days at least. Today, when no one was home, I took a long, hot steamy American shower. No turning off the water while lathering up, no conservative use of hot water. Just a good, old-fashioned consumerist shower. And it was lovely.

In other news, we finally planned a trip for the weekend. All the Georgetown kids, sans Emily who's going to Madrid, are gonna spend a few days in Annecy. We found a pair of rooms for less than 60E a night, so for each person it's only a little more than staying in a hostel. Well worth it.

Annecy is a small city (pop 52,000) about a half hour south of Geneva. There's a lake, a few chateaux, museums, an Imperial palace, and, as always, good food. We'll have over two full days to explore the city, so all should work out well.

And the rollerblading was phenomenal. I'm a bit rusty -- it's probably been a good 6, 7 years since I strapped a pair on -- but I did OK.

--Steve

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb