First full day in Lyon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
January 6th 2007
Published: January 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I've arrived, without any problems, and I'm finally getting settled in. So far, nothing but a very warm welcome from the family. That will definately help to keep the homesickness at bay.

Mme de Beaugrenier and her husband have an incredible, impressively large apartment that will be

home

for the next five months. As expected, the food so far has been absolutely incredible. That's not to mention that the very first bottle of wine I've tasted so far was an incredible, deep-amber red from 1988. Not bad, huh?

The daughters, Alix and Bérenice gave me the grand tour of the city today. The old district is incredible. The charm of Europe's narrow streets and clay roofs gets me every time.

Dinner tonight with all of the Georgetown students.

So far the only bad news is that my can of shaving cream exploded on the flight and covered half of pack. And the bath towel I was issued is pretty close to being sandpaper. I hope not to offend my hosts, but I'm glad I brought my own.

Until next time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb