Grenoble: Week 2


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Grenoble
September 22nd 2011
Published: September 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!
I am writing this to you from my little room at Grenoble. I have been here for less than two weeks, and already it feels like my home.

When I arrived in Grenoble with my Belgium family I was blown away by just how beautiful it was.

The whole city is surrounded by mountains, all different shapes soaring towards the sky. City center is amazing as well. Most of it is just for pedestrians to walk, all the buildings are old, and there are lots of green places and parks as well as fountains. Not to mention all the restaurants and shopping there is!

My University is part of a campus where two other universities make their home as well. It is a huge campus, filled with very different and sometimes bizarre buildings. I needed a map the first week to get myself around!

My room is small but cute, equipped with a shower, toilet and even a little fridge. The kitchens are communal and it came as a shock when I saw there were only tables and stove tops to cook on! Now I bought all the essentials I need to cook with so thank goodness that I have lots of shelf space in my room to hold my food as well as kitchen utensils.

The first week at Grenoble was the orientation week for all the international students. I was really thankful to be given help from the coordinator Fabienne Chapelle who is a really nice lady, always willing to give advice. I was busy all week with administrational duties to complete as well as tours and welcome activities where I met countless other international students. It is impossible to remember all their names. I already have a group of friends and other acquaintances that I’ve been hanging out with regularly.

The French bureaucracy is everything that I have heard it is.. I waited in numerous lines and weirdest of all had to have a bunch of little pictures with me for each card because they do not take pictures of you there. Needless to say all of this required a lot of patience! I am glad that all of it is for the most part past!

I am the proud owner of 6 new cards!
-My student card, Gym Card, Meal card, Paper Copy Card, Tram Pass and my Bank Card
Isnt it amazing! Lol All these pieces of plastic in one week!

I had my first week of classes this week. I tried some out and ended up droping a couple which did not fit what I wanted. Now I think I have the final list:

3rd year International Economics

2nd year History in Politics: All about the political history of the Middle East which is really interesting as I never learnt anything about it before! And will hopefully prove helpful to understand more about the problems that face them today.

French Contemporary Society: All about france today: its politics, conflicts, history ect. A class for exchange students.

Introduction to Geopolitics

And perhaps this other course for exchange students about the European Union that I will try next week to see if I enjoy it or not.

The great thing is that although I have all these courses, I have Thursdays and Fridays off to study, relax and even travel!

This weekend I am going on a hike that is organized for international students on Sunday with a Guide so that should be fun. And the weekend after I signed up for a trip that is organized for the Cote D’azur!!!

I am so excited! 
Anyways as you all can see I am doing well. Still some adjustments to get used to, and still would like to meet more

French people but I am working on it.
I will keep you all updated!
Santé!
Love Rebecca


Advertisement



22nd September 2011

Touched
So enjoyed your Blog and felt I was with you in your room. Thank you dear Grand daughter. Grammie/Go Go/Trisha

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb