Weekend in Chamonix


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Chamonix
July 12th 2006
Published: July 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and the AlpsMe and the AlpsMe and the Alps

breath taking!
So this past Saturday we took a petit excusion to the most touristy town in Savoie- Chamonix. The town itself is quite beautiful and is located at the foot of the highest point of the Alps and the highest mountain in France- Mont Blanc. The bus ride there took about 2 hours, so I took advantage of the air conditioning and the oldies station (I don't know what it is about chartered buses in France and oldies, but I napped to "Can't Buy me Love" and sang along to "Help" so I'm happy either way....and the air conditioning is a big plus).. So I wake up when the bus starts hitting roads that almost made me sick, but was quickly distracted by the snow and glacier covered mountains that were located in view outside of my window. I've never seen the Rockies, or any so high I'm not covered with trees mountains- so I was in awe!!! Once we got into the city, there was a river that ran through the village from the top of the mountain. While walking over the bridges that cross this river, one can feel the cool mountain water. It was about 90 degrees at the
a view from the busa view from the busa view from the bus

I wish my bus ride to grade school had a view like this
foot of the mountain in the city- which was soon changed when we rode the tram to the top. (I got a free pass from a Brittish group that approached the american group- the Brits were leaving and had 2 days passes that were good for another 12 hours, and we were leaving that same day so the passes were good. After some confusion I realized what was going on, and grabbed a pass that they were freely giving- so 7 Americans and one Tunesian got to ride the otherwise 37 euro tram for free. ) The tram took us up to 4000 meters (so that's like 2 1/2 miles)- eye level with the mountains it seemed. GORGEOUS! The air up there was noticibly thinner when as I was climbing stairs, overcoming my vertigo at heights, at trying to stay warm as the temperature dropped to around 40 degrees F over the course of the 20 minute tramride. At the top I tried "Chocolate Rhum" which was the most beastly hot chocolate I have ever had...porquoi pas is not the answer to "voulez-vous une aperitif" at 2 1/2 miles in the air....so anyway. We napped and waited for our tram
The tramThe tramThe tram

this was a swinging tram over mountains....beautiful- but creepy at the same time
to go back down as we had scheduled tram times...and then we ate "hamburger americaine" at this place...and I've learned that the word "americain" added to anything equals- fries on top of meat between the bun...so avec des frites I assumed fries on the side...but no. Kinda funny as I've never eaten fries on my sandwhichs in america....anywho. Followed by much souvenir shopping and tiramisu ice cream- AMAZEMENT in a cone....then the ride home we had to take a 2 hour detour as the toll road we took on the way was closed.....and the detour was switchbacks down the mountain....interesting...we'll just leave it at that.

yeah- so France lost the world cup. That was the first game I have ever really gotten into....and it was intense the whole way through! Ziban was a typical reactive male displaying fits of testoterone.He deserved the Red Card for headbutting that dude...no matter what the italian guy may have said to him- besides the italiens always play dirty, are drama queens to get false penalty cards thrown on the other team:::comme the US vs. Italy game::: but well...c'est la vie and I'm off my soapbox...grr. Two overtimes and penalty kicks= one heck of
"Hambuger Americain""Hambuger Americain""Hambuger Americain"

check out that burger....
a game! Italians partied in the streets- but it was nice to see Italian flags flying next to families carrying the french flag. No violence was witnessed this time- the guy getting sprayed with pepper spray that my friend witnessed had me slightly concerned about walking home...but all is well and the game was good.

Enjoy the pics!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Les FleursLes Fleurs
Les Fleurs

Pretty flowers were all around the city- Chamonix is gorgeous
just a hoteljust a hotel
just a hotel

ok, so this is just to show that all buildings are pretty...may bore you- but I was amazed!
pretty viewpretty view
pretty view

yeah...so that's a real glacier
goofy statuegoofy statue
goofy statue

seriously...this dude's face is creepy if you look close


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb