Au revoir Cote d'azur!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
June 24th 2013
Published: June 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well I am wrapping up my south of france trip. I spent the last of it lazing on beaches and soaking up as much sun as possible. The first day I went to Ville-franche , a town a out 10 minutes away by train. The beach is right off the train station, so very easy to get to.The actual beach is smaller pebbles as opposed to big rocks that are on Nice's beach. Tha surrounding area is beautiful with these vibrant purple/pink flowers that climb up the surrounding stone walls. The water was fresh and turquoise. It was a great quick day trip.

My last day, Sunday, Ironman Nice was happening. This day was going to be another lazy beach day, but the draw of being able to see an event like this was too good to pass up. I woke up early so I could make it down to the beach at 6:30, so I could see the start of the swimming section. In the distance the sea was calm and silky, except the cluster of intense disruption that looked like a frenzy of fish being fed. They had started and were off on the over 3 km swim. it was exciting to watch and a very addicting energy to absorb. Watching the first person to finish the swim, the rounds of applause as he unzipped his wet suit and disrobed himself while running up to the bikes. I cant imagine the amount of training it takes to get to this point, all to come down to one day. I have a lot of respect for these people and it was exciting to watch. The sky was still thick with grey clouds so I spent the most part of the day watching and cheering them on. Once the sky opened up I did get some much needed beach time, but kept checking up on the race as I wanted to see the first man cross. Unfortunately there was a tragic accident where a 30 year old male made a turn on his bike and crashed into a wall and died. They stopped the music to respect him and his family. I couldnt shake that out of my head, extremly sad. I feel for his family.

But on the brighter side, I did get to watch the first man cross. At 8:08. What an insane time. It was exciting to cheer him on, what an accomplishment.

Other than that, my French Riviera experience is complete, but not done. My highlights would have to be Monaco and the sentier du littoral path, the town of Eze, and wandering the old streets of Nice. Definitely miss the ocean and beach time, but all good things must come to an end. And its time for Paris.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Rocky Nice beach. Rocky Nice beach.
Rocky Nice beach.

Not comfortable. At all
Beautiful seating areaBeautiful seating area
Beautiful seating area

Curves around the coast


Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb