Bienvenue a Nice!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
June 18th 2013
Published: June 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour tout le monde! I have arrived in France and it is hot! Got into Nice yesterday and took the bus 98 into the city to meet up with my next apartment guy. So far i can really see the french architecture standing out as well as that beach town feel. I meet up with Pascal, the apartment owner , to get settled into my new digs. This apartment, I knew from time of booking, that it was more simple than my other apartments. I sacrificed my nice apartment because I knew Id be traveling around More here. Its small, definitely someones apartment they rent out while their away. Theres no guide books, or a manual to the apartment. Theres no air conditioning like my last place ( tear) food still in the fridge and cupboards. The bed is loft style, which I wasn't so sure I'd sleep up there given I can see the light from below thru the cracks.( but i did. And didn't fall thru) So first day, walked around. The town of Nice is small and there isnt a ton of stuff to do. It fun just to walk around town and soak up sun. Which incedently
Photo BarceloaPhoto BarceloaPhoto Barceloa

Last day. I am Shary
I did do, a bit too much. The beaches are rocky, not my style of beach, but the water looks good. I walked down to Cours Saleya where Marche de fleurs is. Contrary to the name there is no flowers being sold, but a lot of antiques. I grabbed a quick lunch at one of the sidewalk cafes. The head of house lady was nice and welcoming, in a sing-songy kinda way, " Bonjour Mademoiselle!" She was pretty entertaining to watch while I ate my salade Nicoise. ( not my favorite)

After I walked further down Quai des etais-unis and looped around to place Massena. There i found a great little juice smoothie place. How exciting! I think ive been living off these for the past week and a half. Also in this square are these cool baroque style buildings and these poles in the middle of the square with built to scale sculptures of men sitting in different positions. Its really neat, ill have to grab some night pictures. Other than that, its so hot and my back is cooked like thanksgiving turkey, so I retire early.

Today, i finally get up early and take advantage of the coolness and go for a run. I only got 6k in but better than nothing. I see a poster that says theres an ironman happening on Sunday. Thats pretty cool Ill have to find out more and see if i can go to the finish line. Its hard to believe I ran a half marathon 3 weeks ago, and here I am, slightly struggling to do a 6k. The promenade along the sea is perfect for running along and a lot of people are out. This will definitely become a habit. After I shower and eat breakfast, I head down towards Colline du Château. ( or Castle hill) A nice park located high above Nice, accessed by an elevator. It used to be an ancient town found by greeks. Its a great space with amazing views of Nice. It also has this awesome man made water fall that mists you and cools you down. I had a good 5 minute time out to cool off. This could be my new secret spot.

The rest of the day was spent wandering around vieux nice. Quite honestly I was really tired today and the heat was making me very sleepy,
Photo BarcelonaPhoto BarcelonaPhoto Barcelona

Hanging at the beach. Check out the view...
and knowing I was taking day trips all week, I came home and napped. Im still on vacation right? I can sleep if I want to!

I have some photos left over from Barcelona in the beginning


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Photos from BacelonaPhotos from Bacelona
Photos from Bacelona

Their bike sharing system
Photos from BarcelonaPhotos from Barcelona
Photos from Barcelona

Big lobster on promenade
Photos from BarcelonaPhotos from Barcelona
Photos from Barcelona

Doing laundry Europe style
Photo from BarcelonaPhoto from Barcelona
Photo from Barcelona

Magic fountain


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb