Day 15 - Barcelona to Nice, France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
May 20th 2011
Published: February 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Barcelona-Antibes


001001001

Arles
I don't remember much of today, it was pretty dull. I woke up at about 3 am and I was SO sick. Turns out I really wasn't that cautious about not drinking the tap water in Spain and I had become extremely ill because of it. I couldn't get back to sleep so I spent the early hours of the morning talking to my mom back home, crying, and trying to find some drinkable water, since I was so dehydrated. Luckily I managed to get some medicine from a fellow tourmate, otherwise, I don't think I would have been able to handle the very long driving day ahead of me.

By the time we got on the bus at 8 am I was starting to feel a little bit better, but even though my stomach had improved, I had a raging fever and everywhere on my body hurt.

Today we were driving along the south coast of France to Nice. This was another new destination for me, and I was looking forward to it, even in my "state". We had our first service stop two hours in, and after more driving we came to the French town of Arles.
002002002

Arles - Roman Arena
It was so hot today, at least 30 degrees Celsius, and with my fever, dehydration, and the sun I nearly passed out while walking around the town. I wish I could have enjoyed Arles; it has an interesting Roman arena which we took a walk around.

After another two hour drive we arrived at our campsite in Antibes. "Campsite" doesn't mean we were camping: since we were on the budget tour we sometimes stayed in cabins on campsites. If you are on a Contiki camping tour you would also stay here, but in tents. I would be rooming with Debs, Sharna, and Karly (from Australia) while in Antibes. Our cabin had bunk beds, a shared bathroom, and were pretty basic but clean.

After unpacking and having dinner, I decided to take action and asked Seb if he could get a doctor to come and take a look at me. It was all arranged and a little while later I was having my first international doctor's visit. Turns out I was severely dehydrated and had really bad tonsilitis. He prescribed me some antibiotics, and told me to take it easy and drink lots of water. I missed out on
003003003

Streets of Arles
a visit to the Cannes Film Festival tonight, which I was really disappointed about, but I'm glad I saw a doctor and got myself better. The tour is no fun when you are sick! (Ok, I'll stop rambling about being sick now, the worst was over!) I spent some time on the Internet, then had an early night.

What did I learn today? When you are advised not to drink the tap water, heed the warning! Yuck.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb