Les soldes et les soldes en plus


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
January 17th 2011
Published: January 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while. Since Thursday. Let me go out of order and say Sunday was a complete bust. I didn't get out of bed until 6pm and then just stayed in my room doing I don't even know what.

Friday was much more interesting. I met Ellen downtown and did some choice shopping. I went by myself for the very first time and it was so liberating. I loved being on my own, on my own time, doing what I wanted. So nice. We met up and immediately hit the stores. The soldes (or sales) goes to sometime in February so we were getting the best of it. Ellen was looking for some shoes to make her butt look good and I was down to get whatever I saw. I got a sweater dress at this store called C&A for 9 euros. My butt looks awesome in it in case you were curious. I went to this super intense store called Darty and got a straightener because the one I brought with me kept turning off when I used it with the converter. It's a really good straightener for only 30 euros. Ellen and I had lunch at this Indian kebab place that was really good for the money. We set out again and went into this store called Zara's. It was like walking into Country-Clubs-r-us. There was enough clothing to supply two polo teams and a tea party or 7 with no sweat. I got some black stilettos for 19 euros and a green sweater for 10 euros. After our shopping extravaganza we took the tram back to her dorm to hang out for a bit before we met for drinks with everyone else later. Her campus is a lot closer to downtown than mine and her dorm is A LOT nicer than mine. I was so jealous!!! Shana, Jonathan, and her live at the Valrose campus. It's two big round white buildings (the French love circles...just look at Paris) and her and Shana live on the 2nd floor next to Emma the other ISEP person from last semester that I didn't meet until today. They have way more space than Marissa and I AND they have a nook for cooking. Like what?!?!?!? We messed around in her room until 9ish and then we met Marissa at Quick for some dinner. Once that was done we went to Vieux Nice (Old Nice) picked up some champagne and headed for the beach. We sat on the rocks (not comfortable) and talked for a good twoish hours. We had met up with another ISEP student and a student from ERASMUS (another study abroad program). Sebastian was from ISEP and he's originally from Chile. His last day was actually today. He's going to see Europe before he goes home. Paul was the kid from ERASMUS. Actually he was NOT a kid. More like 23 or something. Paul is from Germany and very cute. We were all starting to get tired so the boys decided it was time to go home which was sad but they were worried about doing well on their exams (lame) so we said goodbye to them and headed to an Irish pub. Wow. That's all I have to say about that. OH...and that as soon as I walked in I got hit on and this nasty older man insisted on buying me a drink. AND that he kept trying to get me to come over and say hi which he indicated by curling his index finger in towards him which I promptly returned with my OWN index finger swaying side to side sayin, "uh uh buster." We waited until he wasn't looking to creep out. Great success! Unfortunately after that it was 145 am and the bus had stopped running by then and Marissa and I were forced to walk home. All went well though so no worries :D

Next day...Saturday. Marissa and I met Shana and Ellen at the mall again and continued our quest for shoes! NOT before eating lunch though. We went to this really good panini place. I would just like to take this moment her to explain that panini is plural in Italian. If you want a panini you say un panino. So if you ever see a sign that says we sell paninis...OMG IT IS WRONG! Anyways...The paninO was really good. I got one with ham and cheese and tomato in it. Ellen warned me and rightly so that the tomatoes become MOLTEN after they're grilled. HAWT!!! Once the panino was gone I indulged myself further and got a cafe au lait (coffee with milk) and un pain au chocolat (croissant-like creation with chocolate in it). It went so beyond hitting the spot. It was indescribable. Once the food dragon was safely asleep and sated we ventured out from our trottoir and went on a spree. Well at least I did. I got a Pocohantas purse (its smaller and less likely to be stolen and harder to steal out of because of it's design) and a wallet since I forgot mine another scarf (Blue this time) and some tights. Everything was basically free....it was almost sad until you realized it was all for yourself. Then it wasn't. After we walked around a but we all went back home and I got to skype Clay for the first time in a week. He's officially moved in at his new place and is going to John Tyler as well as working at the same place as his dad. He's doing 11 hr shifts and getting home at like 330am. I'm worried he'll overwork himself and not be as pretty when I get home. Just kidding. Sort of. I mean that's seriously a bust schedule. I'm glad he has the weekends to detox (a.k.a goofing off with his new gokart club...boys). After that I went to bed.

Well we already heard about Sunday so let us move on to more interesting days....like MONDAY! I was woken this morning by the UPS lady who called about my big colis (box) that was waiting for me at the warehouse. When I woke up I forgot where I was and answered the phone in English. After that she talked to me like I was a slow 5 year old. So nice in the morning. I was told that I had to get an attestation de non-revente (a paper saying I wouldn't resell everything in my box) and a copy of my passport to her ASAP. Okay something to do today. Got it. I went down to the Fac (where I go to classes) to meet Jonathan (the other ISEP kid for this semester) to help him set up his life. haha After that we went down to Vieux Nice to have SUSHI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I missed it so much and it definitely hit the spot...and THEN SOME! We went searching for dessert afterwards and found this small patisserie. I got another pain au chocolat and a nespresso (I spelled that right) which was the perfect end to a perfect meal. We walked back the way we came and Marissa and I got our bus passes which I was the most excited about. It was 28 euros for a month which will without a doubt get used. It's 1 euro for 74 consecutive minutes on a bus or tram. It can get really expensive really fast. Then Marissa went to get a phone card for France while I helped Jonathan with the inner workings of Darty. He needed a straightener too and I showed him how there is an art to getting a clerk's attention and what not. I got us a girl clerk which normally isn't as good because you should get someone of the opposite sex to flirt with and get whatever you want but it was okay because she was gay and was charmed by my sexiness. Once we had that in the bag we met up with Marissa convened back at my dorm to plan a day trip to Antibes. If your looking at the Hexagon Antibes is left of Nice before Cannes. I'm really excited about this trip because it'll be so much fun for one and it'll be something different for two. I don't know much about it but I'm sure I will after Wednesday.

I got to talk to my Bestie Erin today! She's havin' a blast down there in Chile where it's summertime right now (jealous!) I also got to talk to Galadriel and Step both for a few minutes. Also got to talk to the sexiest pharmacist ever (Kelly Rea) and was glad to hear that she is reading my blog as well. I mean it IS what everyone who's anyone is doing...Tomorrow (actually here it already is!) is my mom's BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You better tell her or else the birthday fairy will get you!!!! Oh and I'd like to give a special shout out to my favoritiest JOHN!!!!! Love ya!

I plan to go to lady's night tomorrow. To quote Rihanna, "We gon' run this town tonight!" or rather tomorrow...yeah.

Advertisement



18th January 2011

Good to Finally Hear from You!!!
Jonathan uses a straightener... really???? Sounds like you're having quite a time. Jeanette and I were anxiously awaiting your next entry, actually we were worried. So were you able to get the box successfully? -Mike
18th January 2011

ahh well I'm still waiting to hear back about the box.
21st January 2011

Your day trip is going to be something different. Already the local! I think everyday is a new adventure. Mom was on cloud 9for her bday. I had to remind her it was after 9 and we were still visiting. Love you.
21st January 2011

trip
easy on the stilletos kid / you dont want to shock mom on her birthday bringing home frenchie remember there not like italians thier portions are really small i hear the gals dont shave their armpits and the guys never use soap they dont want to loose their natural scent which is stinky
23rd January 2011

hi
I am slack and have taken a long time to get online on an actual computer so I am just reading this. I hope that we can read some more blog soon. Love you
23rd January 2011

Haha so true! I'm gunna scoot on over to Italy and find a real man there....although my new Italian friend, Anna, said Italian men are losers soooo....yea.

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb