Bathrooms


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
January 6th 2011
Published: January 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Just wanted to let everyone know how the bathroom thing works. Well in France the shower is called la douche (yup). Anyways so when you want to take a shower you turn the water on by pushing a huge button. This gives you water and then you adjust it to what temperature you want. Ok so you're showering right? Then all of a sudden the water turns off! Why you ask? Well it's because the button you pushed slowly lets up while you shower. You've got to constantly push the button so that you can keep the flow of water running. You really don't want it to turn off either because when it turns back on it's cold. Yeah. For the toilets...well toilet might be too generous a term for what they use. Mine thankfully has a seat and all that but there are some that look like they used to be toilets but got blown up in WWII and were never fixed. Seriously. Water here is very precious and they use as little of it as possible. The water you drink here is usually carbonated if it comes in a bottle which is definitely an acquired taste. There is no such thing as ice cubes either so don't ask for them because they'll laugh you out of the building. yea that's basically it for this except I want to say that I did pretty much nothing today because I was up late last night. I woke up at 12 noon and had lunch with Marissa and then we watched the Fourth Kind on her laptop (thanks Clay). Then I took a shower and now here I am. Pretty crazy I know. Today was a super crappy day. It rained and was foggy. I can't even see the sea from my window and it's within walking distance.

Advertisement



7th January 2011

delightful accounts
I am totally entertained by your detailed accounts. I can visualize your adventures and chuckle and grimace just as you must be doing. When do classes start?
7th January 2011

Speaking of movies.
lol. ignore my facebook comment. i usually check my email after i check my facebook. XD glad your enjoying the movies. :D
7th January 2011

Well, well Debbiecakes it looks like you’re off to a great start. Hope you brought some good comfy shoes -- as all the hiking around the mountains must be killing your feet. From the sound of all the yummy food it’s probably a good thing there will be a lot of walking involved during your stay! Glad you have already found some friends to hang out with. Have you tried any French wine yet? Your blog is very interesting and of course amusing! Can’t wait to read the next entry. Take care and enjoy your adventure. Cuz Donna
8th January 2011

Wino
I actually haven't had a drop of alcohol yet....I'm sure it'll present itself soon. ;)
8th January 2011

Classes
Mrs. Rowe it is so good to hear for you! I was so sad Erin and I couldn't see you before we left. :( My classes begin on the 21st. I have an appointment on Tuesday to sign up for them. I'm really excited!
9th January 2011

bathrooms
Mario once told me that italian women pee standing up. They must have worst toilets than the frnch. Glad ur having good times. Like the pic. Are you eating a frnch pastry? (Donut in american) love you and yes mayo CAN be eaten with fries but only in moderation
9th January 2011

I'll keep a lookout for that whole pee thing ;)

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb