French Riviera


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
March 30th 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was sound asleep when my dreams were interrupted by a loud banging on our door. Crazy Asian man on the rampage again I thought to myself...except he was actually a lifesaver. So unbeknownst to us, there was a time change one hour ahead overnight, which meant that we were now getting up a whole hour later than we had planned. Ahhhh we have a train to catch and luggage to haul! I was so impressed that all four of us were ready and out the door within 15 minutes. We then had to trek our luggage to the metro stop, get on the metro, take it 3 stops, transfer to another metro line, take that a few more stops, and finally exit to the main train station. It was quite a sight, and I really wish that someone would have been there to record us. But we made it, and at least I got a workout out of it.

We only had a short wait at the station before we were able to board our train. I got my usual breakfast of coffee and a croissant (apple-filled this time), and was a happy camper ready to go back to sleep during our 6 hour train ride. We arrived in Nice without a hitch and were very pleased that our hostel was only a short 5 minute walk from the train station. Nice seems pretty nice so far, haha. I know, that was lame.

We were so excited to see sun and warmth that we immediately changed into capris and flip flops. Off for a late lunch, paninis this time, and then walked along the water. We stopped to watch a really cool roller blading exhibition and then decided that it was time for some much needed gelato. It was here that we were introduced to straciatella, or chocolate chip...it is absolutely wonderful! One of many many flavors that we got to try over the course of 3 weeks.

It started to get colder so we headed back to the hostel and relaxed in front of Claire's portable dvd player. Thank goodness for Sex and the City! I eventually drifted off to sleep with my book (and book light) despite the damn mosquito buzzing in my ear.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb