Paris and Mouans-Sartoux


Advertisement
Published: April 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Friday was, sadly, my last day in Paris. It was a warm, sunny day and I decided it could be better spent than in class so I gave myself a little bit of a sleep in and the morning off. I went in to Notre Dame around mid-day as it was so bright and sunny. The rose windows were fantastic - so beautifu!!! I did not go up the bell tour as there was a really long line. It seems to be a common theme in Paris. Afterwards, I walked all the way from Notre Dame to the Musee D'Orsay. Firstly, the museum itself is an absolutely beautiful building, inside and out. I loved a lot of the impressionist work displayed inside - monet, van gogh, cezanne etc. After spending time there I was officially Museum'd out!! I met up with Jason's friend Tyler and some of his friends from school for some happy hour drinks and dinner.
Saturday I travelled by train to Mouans-Sartoux where I wil stay for a little over two weeks (it is a work exchange program). It was a terrible train ride, because of a strike the train I was supposed to take didn't run and they put everyone from that train on a train 2 hours later! It was more than full...not enough seats for everyone and consequently I sat on the floor for most of the train ride - but it could have been worse, the train could not have run at all. Anyways, after a long and frustrating day I finally arrived. I am staying with a really nice family. A dutch-german couple who are living just outside of Cannes. They have a vegetable garden which I will be helping them with and they have apartments which they rent out to tourists. Unfortunately, I will not have very much opportunity to practice my french here...
There is also another WWOOFer here, Daniel from Russia/Germany/Switzerland. He is only here for on more day unfortunately, and then it is just me. He has a car so on Saturday night we drove into Cannes to walk around and see the beach.
Today, Sunday, we do not work and so had a little bit of a sleep in. The weather is not great today, cold and a little rainy. Daniel and I decided to drive into Nice. It is a really pretty city with a large boardwalk, and lots of shops and restaurants. Daniel is going to Cologne (about 70km) away to wwoof in another place. We get along great though, and he suggested on days off he would drive down and we could go to Monaco or other close places which would be fantastic!

Lots of Love and I love hearing from you!!
xoxo
Sarah

Advertisement



11th April 2010

so good to hear from you
thank you for sharing your trip! You sound so good. Is it not wonderful to be travelling and meeting nice people. The world is a beautiful place! keep up with the blog....I love to hear from you and follow your journey. All is well here. love Miriam

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb